File backup options

awdrifter

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
3,165
I want to back up some of my files (about 700gb) to DVD DL, what's the best program for the job? I currently have Nero 10, it could burn specified folders to multiple DVDs, but I don't want to lose all the info just because 1 of the DVD is missing or become corrupted. Is there a program that would automatically split the data into multiple DVDs and when I need to recover it even if one DVD is missing for became corrupted it'll still be able to recover the data on the non-corrupted DVD? Thanks.
 

Buba

Wants Rick Astley's Babies
Joined
Nov 12, 2004
Messages
7,089
Location
Rottal-Inn
Car(s)
BMW M235i
Thats like 83 DVD DLs.
You sure you don't wanna simply use an external HDD for that?
 

narf

Sgt. Maj. Buzzkill
Joined
Feb 1, 2008
Messages
18,533
Location
Kiel/Wherever, Germany
Car(s)
'19 BMW M240i
A 1TB 3.5" external HDD will be $75, so at $1 per DVD-DL (guesstimating here, didn't check) it wouldn't be more expensive... but easier to handle, a lot faster, less spacious to store, less degrading over time, modifiable, ...
 
Last edited:

awdrifter

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
3,165
Yeah, I'm considering just getting a 1TB HDD for it, I missed the Samsung F3 sale at $59, but I guess that's a better option. The only drawback about using a hDD is the data can be destroyed by a virus.
 

PacketCollision

Server Admin/Crasher
STAFF MEMBER
Joined
Feb 19, 2007
Messages
1,297
Location
San Francisco
Car(s)
generator on wheels
Yeah, I'm considering just getting a 1TB HDD for it, I missed the Samsung F3 sale at $59, but I guess that's a better option. The only drawback about using a hDD is the data can be destroyed by a virus.

Don't keep the HD plugged in all the time.
 

awdrifter

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
3,165
Sometimes a system is infected and I may not immediately know. With a DVD (or BD) there's no way for the data to get erased or damaged by virus.
 

prizrak

Forum Addict
Joined
Apr 2, 2007
Messages
21,601
Location
No, sleep, till, BROOKLYN
Car(s)
11 Xterra Pro-4x, 12 'stang GT
Mount it as read-only.

How is he going to write the back up to it then?

I would second the HDD option, DVDs are gonna be problematic and if you want auto splits you are gonna have problems with missing media.
I would suggest thta you run a full virus check on system before plugging the drive in :p
 
Last edited:

narf

Sgt. Maj. Buzzkill
Joined
Feb 1, 2008
Messages
18,533
Location
Kiel/Wherever, Germany
Car(s)
'19 BMW M240i
How is he going to write the back up to it then?

By mounting it read-write during the actual backing up of course, silly. Use it like a large DVD, write once and only read afterwards. If his computer already was infected during the initial backup then it doesn't matter what medium he uses to do the backup with.
 

prizrak

Forum Addict
Joined
Apr 2, 2007
Messages
21,601
Location
No, sleep, till, BROOKLYN
Car(s)
11 Xterra Pro-4x, 12 'stang GT
By mounting it read-write during the actual backing up of course, silly. Use it like a large DVD, write once and only read afterwards. If his computer already was infected during the initial backup then it doesn't matter what medium he uses to do the backup with.

:)
 

awdrifter

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
3,165
Of course I will do a thorough scan before backing it up, I'll have to look up how to do the read only when I want to retrieve the data. Thanks for the replies.
 

prizrak

Forum Addict
Joined
Apr 2, 2007
Messages
21,601
Location
No, sleep, till, BROOKLYN
Car(s)
11 Xterra Pro-4x, 12 'stang GT
Also take a look at BD burners. A bit on the pricey side but with each disk holding 50GB of data might make some sense
 

narf

Sgt. Maj. Buzzkill
Joined
Feb 1, 2008
Messages
18,533
Location
Kiel/Wherever, Germany
Car(s)
'19 BMW M240i
For compatibility reasons I wouldn't buy a BD drive just for this backup, unless you have access to multiple drives already. What if that one drive breaks? Your backup would again require investment.
With both DVDs and an external HDD you could throw them at virtually any computer and use them.
 

awdrifter

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
3,165
I've found a Hitachi 1TB for $50 after rebate, but it's a 7K1000.B, the version that I had problem previously. There's another Hitachi 1TB drive that's a new product, but since there aren't any reviews yet, I'm weary about buying it. I might just wait for the Samsung F3 to go on sale again before doing the backup.
 

Matt2000

An Unfortunate Discovery
DONOR
Joined
Feb 17, 2006
Messages
15,722
Location
Left a bit, no right a bit, just there. England.
Car(s)
2020 Tesla Model 3, 1990 Discovery 1 Bobtail
I have a 1TB drive (also Hitachi funnily enough) in an enclosure on the top of my machine. It's connected via eSATA so speed is very good and it's only ever turned on when I need to do a backup. It does need upgrading to 2TB though so I can back up my NAS drive too, I don't quite trust the mirroring I have set up and don't want to loose everything again.

I'd suggest the HDD option too.
 

PacketCollision

Server Admin/Crasher
STAFF MEMBER
Joined
Feb 19, 2007
Messages
1,297
Location
San Francisco
Car(s)
generator on wheels
You want to do backups like the big boys? Go tape. You can get tape drives that can fit 3TB compressed on a single tape. They're compact, and really the only option if you want to do frequent backups and store them offsite for months at a time.
 

PacketCollision

Server Admin/Crasher
STAFF MEMBER
Joined
Feb 19, 2007
Messages
1,297
Location
San Francisco
Car(s)
generator on wheels
Well fine, if you want to be a buzzkill :cry:
 
Top