Forum Suggestions / Issues

avanti

Forum Addict
Joined
Jul 22, 2005
Messages
6,464
Location
Milano, Italia
Car(s)
5 cars + 8 motorcycles
there used to be a "go to last post" button after the number of the last page in each thread, is it possible to have it back?
 

Quiky

Isn't really scary, honest
STAFF MEMBER
Joined
Aug 21, 1995
Messages
5,445
Armedcats won't be coming back functionality wise. The code behind the scenes refuses to operate on any current/supported versions of PHP. I've asked for years if anyone wants to take over the project and had no responses. It will run read-only and serve the images best possible, cached via cloudflare. If you want a copy of your uploads, PM me and I'll make a zip file.
 

Viper007Bond

Chicken Nugget Connoisseur
STAFF MEMBER
Joined
Sep 21, 2003
Messages
31,051
Location
Portland, Oregon
Car(s)
2008 Dodge Viper, 2006 MB CLS55 AMG
Armedcats won't be coming back functionality wise. The code behind the scenes refuses to operate on any current/supported versions of PHP. I've asked for years if anyone wants to take over the project and had no responses. It will run read-only and serve the images best possible, cached via cloudflare. If you want a copy of your uploads, PM me and I'll make a zip file.
Frankly with sites like Imgur and stuff out there, I'd argue it's not worth the trouble of running an image host. It's awesome that you're still serving existing images so we don't get broken ones, but outside of that...

We could enable attachments here, but I'm not sure what DreamHost's storage limits are like.

EDIT: Oh! Maybe the ability to upload attachments could be one of the donor perks!
 

93Flareside

Döner Kebab enthusiast
DONOR
Joined
Jul 20, 2009
Messages
16,483
Location
42 miles outside of Chicago
Car(s)
‘18 VW Golf GTI, '87 Mercury Colony Park
Armedcats won't be coming back functionality wise. The code behind the scenes refuses to operate on any current/supported versions of PHP. I've asked for years if anyone wants to take over the project and had no responses. It will run read-only and serve the images best possible, cached via cloudflare. If you want a copy of your uploads, PM me and I'll make a zip file.
Loose_Unit has set up imgear.eu.
 

BerserkerCatSplat

Hormone Induced
Joined
Jun 21, 2005
Messages
9,512
Location
Alberta, Canada
Car(s)
The Jeep of Theseus, Angry Wagon
Minor one - we used to have an auto-thumbnail thingy that would show reduced-size images with a click-for-original function for when watermelon-sized images got posted. Any way to get that back?

Also, go-to-latest-post button beside thread titles would be great to have again.

This post needs more hyphens
 

Quiky

Isn't really scary, honest
STAFF MEMBER
Joined
Aug 21, 1995
Messages
5,445
Frankly with sites like Imgur and stuff out there, I'd argue it's not worth the trouble of running an image host. It's awesome that you're still serving existing images so we don't get broken ones, but outside of that...

We could enable attachments here, but I'm not sure what DreamHost's storage limits are like.

EDIT: Oh! Maybe the ability to upload attachments could be one of the donor perks!
Yeah, I strongly dislike having twelve years of uploaded images and history disappearing forever (we started in 2007 when photobucket was a pile of trash, and imageshack banned the forums from hotlinking. Now they went ahead and deleted everything... and we are still serving the old content. Not 100% reliably, but it's all still there.)

No storage limits on DH, so go right ahead and enable upload/attachments. Most people will opt to external providers.
 

NotLaw

Active Member
DONOR
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
450
Location
Cedar City, UT
Car(s)
'90 Saab SPG, '84 K5 Blazer, '67 Fairlane 500
Shame about loosing Armedcats, but it looks like most of the images in my PYC car aren't borked anymore (except for the really old imageshack ones, and those have been broken for years), so at least there's that.
 

CrzRsn

Mr. Fedewhatever
DONOR
Joined
Mar 6, 2005
Messages
17,043
Location
Motor City, Michigan
Car(s)
13 Ford Mustang GT, 17 Ford Fiesta ST
Not a forum issue, per se, but affecting the forum for me so I figured I'll ask for help here since I've exhausted my personal IT knowledge and Googlefu. Can't open the forum on either of my laptops, or either of my phones when connected to my home wifi. Forum works fine on my phones when on the cell netwok, and works fine on my laptop when tethered to my phone. Also works fine when I get on the local Xfinity Wifi Hotspot. Can't find a single other website affected. I've cleared the cookies and cache on my laptop, reset my router and modem. Getting consistent connection time outs.



When I run a tracert, it seems to get to the forum just fine



So I'm out of ideas as to why suddenly, the forum, and only the forum doesn't work on my home network.
 

CrzRsn

Mr. Fedewhatever
DONOR
Joined
Mar 6, 2005
Messages
17,043
Location
Motor City, Michigan
Car(s)
13 Ford Mustang GT, 17 Ford Fiesta ST
Does it work in any other browser? And just to verify, my personal blog works, right? I think it uses the same-ish security settings. https://alex.blog/
Your blog works in both Chrome and IE. FG doesn’t in either. It has to be something with my hardware since it works on my phone and on the hotspot, I just can’t for the life of me think of what it would be. For reference, I have Xfinity so if it was their problem, it theoretically wouldn’t work on the hotspot either, but it does.

Maybe I’ll just use this as a sign that I should go to sleep, put my phone down, and unplug my router for the night.
 
Last edited:

Viper007Bond

Chicken Nugget Connoisseur
STAFF MEMBER
Joined
Sep 21, 2003
Messages
31,051
Location
Portland, Oregon
Car(s)
2008 Dodge Viper, 2006 MB CLS55 AMG
Only thing I can suggest is to ditch Comcast's crappy DNS server and use Google's instead:


However that doesn't explain why you can tracert to the forums. Weird.
 

CrzRsn

Mr. Fedewhatever
DONOR
Joined
Mar 6, 2005
Messages
17,043
Location
Motor City, Michigan
Car(s)
13 Ford Mustang GT, 17 Ford Fiesta ST
Only thing I can suggest is to ditch Comcast's crappy DNS server and use Google's instead:


However that doesn't explain why you can tracert to the forums. Weird.
It just started working again...... weird. Who knows what gremlin or ghosts in the machine inhabited my router. As far as DNS servers go, I've been using OpenDNS for years. Don't remember why I switched from Google at this point, but IIRC there was a good reason.


EDIT: And its gone again. Going to take that cue to go to sleep and see whats going on in the morning.
 
Last edited:

Viper007Bond

Chicken Nugget Connoisseur
STAFF MEMBER
Joined
Sep 21, 2003
Messages
31,051
Location
Portland, Oregon
Car(s)
2008 Dodge Viper, 2006 MB CLS55 AMG
It just started working again...... weird. Who knows what gremlin or ghosts in the machine inhabited my router. As far as DNS servers go, I've been using OpenDNS for years. Don't remember why I switched from Google at this point, but IIRC there was a good reason.


EDIT: And its gone again. Going to take that cue to go to sleep and see whats going on in the morning.
I'm not a fan of OpenDNS as they do weird stuff when an entry can't be found or they try to stop malicious sites or something. I'd rather have unfiltered results and rely on my browser to block stuff.
 

CrzRsn

Mr. Fedewhatever
DONOR
Joined
Mar 6, 2005
Messages
17,043
Location
Motor City, Michigan
Car(s)
13 Ford Mustang GT, 17 Ford Fiesta ST
Forgot to check FG at home this morning, but got a new error at work



Still works fine on my phone, and insterestingly enough works fine on my work phone on work wifi..... probably should do work instead of FG....

EDIT: And its back. Interesting thing is that this time tracert and nslookup didn't work. The jury is still out on if FG will work when I get home tonight.
 
Last edited:

Matt2000

Disco Stu-pour
DONOR
Joined
Feb 17, 2006
Messages
14,508
Location
Country smells, England
Car(s)
'01 Disco 2 V8, '90 Disco 1, '05 Smart Roadster
I’m getting this too, on every device. It’s very hit and miss. It’s almost as if I’m being blocked for a certain amount of time after some event.
 

LeVeL

Forum Addict
Joined
Jun 16, 2007
Messages
12,706
My only issue has been with images showing up randomly. Wrong people's signatures, signatures in posts, etc. Otherwise it's been running well.
 

LeVeL

Forum Addict
Joined
Jun 16, 2007
Messages
12,706
The image thing seems sporadic - some days it's fine, other days it's broken. The post a pic of yourself thread is totally unreadable for me - oh really, you look like the motorcycle in Spectre's signature??
 
Top