Forum Suggestions / Issues

Matt2000

Disco Stu-pour
DONOR
Joined
Feb 17, 2006
Messages
14,431
Location
Country smells, England
Car(s)
'01 Disco 2 V8, '90 Disco 1, '05 Smart Roadster
Just had the unreachable issue on my home network again and had to switch to 4G to load this page. Maybe it is a DNS issue.

Edit: Works fine using my phone as a hotspot. :dunno:
 

Galantti

Is all about the suomibass
DONOR
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
2,181
Location
Vantaa, Finland
Car(s)
Audi A7, Ford Fiesta Van, Honda NM4 Vultus
Yeah I started getting the unreachable bug on my home network on all my devices and different browsers (using Google DNS), but works fine in my phone without connected to same network.
 

IceBone

Blue Wheel Hipster
DONOR
Joined
Jan 14, 2007
Messages
27,052
Location
Slovenistan
Car(s)
Audi A5 Quattro
I've disabled push notifications. This all started shortly after they were enabled. Hopefully it'll work and let me actually post this message.
 

Matt2000

Disco Stu-pour
DONOR
Joined
Feb 17, 2006
Messages
14,431
Location
Country smells, England
Car(s)
'01 Disco 2 V8, '90 Disco 1, '05 Smart Roadster
Working again now on my home network. Haven't enabled or disabled anything, I didn't turn push notifications on for example. I wonder how long it will stay up for this time.

Edit: Not long, shit itself again. Tracert is the same, working or not working. Odd.
 
Last edited:

bone

"bangle for president"
DONOR
Joined
Jan 14, 2004
Messages
16,275
Location
belgium!!
Car(s)
Volvo V40 & Yamaha Banshee
i think i broke it a few times
each time i try to make a post in the form of

- [url = somesiteadress ] name [ /url ]: some explanation

the post won't submit, and the forum goes down for a while...
might just be coincidence, but i don't believe in that
 

TC

aka TomCat
Joined
Dec 11, 2005
Messages
11,383
i think i broke it a few times
each time i try to make a post in the form of

- [url = somesiteadress ] name [ /url ]: some explanation

the post won't submit, and the forum goes down for a while...
might just be coincidence, but i don't believe in that
Yeah, I am having the same issue.
 

BerserkerCatSplat

Hormone Induced
Joined
Jun 21, 2005
Messages
9,485
Location
Alberta, Canada
Car(s)
The Jeep of Theseus, Angry Wagon
i think i broke it a few times
each time i try to make a post in the form of

- [url = somesiteadress ] name [ /url ]: some explanation

the post won't submit, and the forum goes down for a while...
might just be coincidence, but i don't believe in that
Oh man, you're right - I only had a forum-down issue once and it was after my only post that contained URL tags.
 

Eye-Q

Forum Addict
DONOR
Joined
Feb 17, 2007
Messages
5,327
Location
Hamburg, Autobahnland
Car(s)
None anymore...
I'll test this theory in the test subforum - if you don't hear anything from me in the next 20 minutes that's the cause for the problems... :razz:
 

Eye-Q

Forum Addict
DONOR
Joined
Feb 17, 2007
Messages
5,327
Location
Hamburg, Autobahnland
Car(s)
None anymore...
Well, I was able to send two posts including a link in the test forums (click) and that issue doesn't pop up here. I'm using Firefox 65.0 x64 on Windows 10 Pro x64.

[edit]
Even after this post with another link I'm still able to browse the forums and so on.
[/edit]
 

CrzRsn

Mr. Fedewhatever
DONOR
Joined
Mar 6, 2005
Messages
16,764
Location
Motor City, Michigan
Car(s)
13 Ford Mustang GT, 17 Ford Fiesta ST
Continuing with the URL fuckery, when I try to Like Craigs most recent post in the Automotive Youtube Channel thread I started, the forum goes for down 20-30 mins on my laptop. Getting the same ERR_TUNNEL_CONNECTION_FAILURE message from Chome as I did yesterday. I’ve now tested and replicated this 3 times today. Haven’t tried liking other posts with the new fancy URL displays. And liking the post on my phone has no issues.
 
Last edited:

BerserkerCatSplat

Hormone Induced
Joined
Jun 21, 2005
Messages
9,485
Location
Alberta, Canada
Car(s)
The Jeep of Theseus, Angry Wagon
I just had the same issue (~20min forum unavailability on my device) when I tried to reply to the Automotive Youtube Channel thread - I didn't have any URL tags in my post, though.

Oddly, I still received browser notifications from the forum even though I couldn't load it during that time.
 

Viper007Bond

Chicken Nugget Connoisseur
STAFF MEMBER
Joined
Sep 21, 2003
Messages
31,051
Location
Portland, Oregon
Car(s)
2008 Dodge Viper, 2006 MB CLS55 AMG
It's some type of proxy error according to Google. Gotta be on your end I'd think.
 

RdKetchup

Snow Mexican Surender Monkey
DONOR
Joined
Feb 18, 2007
Messages
4,364
Location
Montreal, Qc, Canada
Car(s)
FoRS, Japanese touring triple
It's some type of proxy error according to Google. Gotta be on your end I'd think.
Since it started happening to a bunch of people from all over the world, I would be inclined to say it's on the server side.

I started getting errors 30 minutes ago after doing nothing special. Turned my VPN on, and it started working again.
 

Viper007Bond

Chicken Nugget Connoisseur
STAFF MEMBER
Joined
Sep 21, 2003
Messages
31,051
Location
Portland, Oregon
Car(s)
2008 Dodge Viper, 2006 MB CLS55 AMG
Since it started happening to a bunch of people from all over the world, I would be inclined to say it's on the server side.

I started getting errors 30 minutes ago after doing nothing special. Turned my VPN on, and it started working again.
Oh good point. Duh.
 

Matt2000

Disco Stu-pour
DONOR
Joined
Feb 17, 2006
Messages
14,431
Location
Country smells, England
Car(s)
'01 Disco 2 V8, '90 Disco 1, '05 Smart Roadster
It really does seem to be to do with URLs in posts. I tried to edit a post I made with a URL in it and had the problem, then when I could access it simply reloading the page with URLS on seemed to cause it again.
 

Viper007Bond

Chicken Nugget Connoisseur
STAFF MEMBER
Joined
Sep 21, 2003
Messages
31,051
Location
Portland, Oregon
Car(s)
2008 Dodge Viper, 2006 MB CLS55 AMG
I'm really not sure what to do. I've never run into the issue, at least in Firefox.

I disabled rich link embeds temporarily. That's the only thing I can think of.
 

Matt2000

Disco Stu-pour
DONOR
Joined
Feb 17, 2006
Messages
14,431
Location
Country smells, England
Car(s)
'01 Disco 2 V8, '90 Disco 1, '05 Smart Roadster
I’ll try another browser if it happens to me again. Chrome on all occasions because that’s all I use.
 

IceBone

Blue Wheel Hipster
DONOR
Joined
Jan 14, 2007
Messages
27,052
Location
Slovenistan
Car(s)
Audi A5 Quattro
Yeah, come to think of it, it's only ever happened when I tried to post in a specific thread, however your URL theory might hold merit as it was a post with a URL to a youtube channel I was trying to post.
 

Quiky

Isn't really scary, honest
STAFF MEMBER
Joined
Aug 21, 1995
Messages
5,444
I'll pull the server logs tomorrow night and see whats going on. New SSL certs were just installed automatically the other night, so it could be related..?
 

thomas

Grouchy Beemer Owner
STAFF MEMBER
DONOR
Joined
Feb 17, 2007
Messages
5,868
Location
near Stuttgart, or Texas when possible
Car(s)
'00 M539, '94 Cadillac Fleetwood, '16 Focus Wagon
I'll pull the server logs tomorrow night and see whats going on. New SSL certs were just installed automatically the other night, so it could be related..?
We did have weird issues with outdated/updated SSL certificates before over the last years iirc, so that may be plausible too?!
 
Top