Getting Started in Photography

Vambeer

Car(s)
2003 FIAT Punto Sporting 95HP, 2011 Volvo S60 1.6D
Hey guys, i am looking to get into expand my point-and-shoot horizons and get into dslr territory. But as you propably know, i am a novice in the field and i am looking for advice.

The first dilemma i am facing as funding is an issue is: brand new or used body. With a little bit of searching online i found that some of the moving parts inside the body (mainly shutter mechanism(?)) have a fixed lifetime making a used body something of a gamble. How much of a gamble is it and how can i verify that the used camera has indeed the 7.000 shots the seller tells me it has!?

Secondly i would like to know the equipment i need as a rookie. By that i mean lens(es), tripod, filters etc. The main reason i am getting into photography is cars, so that will be my main subject. Of course the process of learning will make me shoot other stuff as well but cars are my passion.

Third is the choice of camera. I want an entry-level dslr of course. Something that will help me grow as a photographer and will cover my needs for at least some years. I don't want to outgrow my camera in a year or so. Of course money is always an issue so i am looking for something not too expensive. I've been to the stores once just to talk to somebody who knows and learn the prices but the service was not what i expected. Nobody seemed to be interested in chatting with a beginner... So i just looked around. The only resonable option i found was something in the region of Nikon D3100 (380? with a 18-55 lens) and Nikon D5100 (490? with the same lens). Canon has some distributing problems in my city so i couldn't find any. I don't want to go over 500?. I know i probably should but i just don't have the money plus i think that a camera like these two is all i need.