Gift ideas for someone that wants to make the world a better place

CD82

Car(s)
Audi A3 2.0 TDI
Hi everyone,

I have a bit of an odd question: What do you gift someone that wants to make the world a better place?

Let me do some explaining first. I'm a scientist. One of my reasons for becoming a physicist was that I wanted to do something to advance mankind, to improve who we are, to make life a little nicer for everyone*. After two years as a post-doc at university I "sold out" and started working for a company because I didn't want to put up with short-term contracts (and somewhat subpar payment) anymore, so I'm out of the game.

A couple of days ago I talked to a fellow scientist from my old department. Turns out we share some ideals about being a scientists. Specifically, she told me that she wants to make the world a better place. Contrary to my recent change in careers she's sticking with an academic career and is in the progress of becoming a professor, so she actually has a shot at doing something significant down the line (contrary to myself). Anyway, at that moment an idea was born:

How about I make a couple donations to organizations (for instance Doctors without Borders, Caritas, etc) in her name, so that she can do some improving right now, although probably not in the way she had in mind when she told me? Next step would be to make a present out of the receipts and give it to her. And just to clarify, she's the type of person that carries pens in her backpack when she's hiking in Nepal which she then gives away to children along her route. So she's totally down to earth when it comes to helping people, not (just) in a "crazy scientist"-way.

What do you think of this idea? Too stupid? Too naiv? If so: What else would you suggest for me in order to help her make this world a little better? Do you know which organizations to prefer/avoid when donating money?