Golf R32: just a couple of pics I took today *56k warning*

oliB

Hi!

After I cleaned the shit out of the R32 on sunday (did a pretty good job IMO 8) ) I thought maybe it would be a good idea to take some pics.

I'm a photography noob though, hope you enjoy the pics anyways! :)

cimg11325be.jpg

cimg10657pk.jpg

cimg10666ls.jpg

cimg10829kl.jpg

I know, the shape of the gearlever is a bit odd... It's not an auto btw, it's a DSG - Direct Shift Gearbox. (see the Fifth Gear review of the Golf GTI)

cimg11141jr.jpg

cimg11340nr.jpg

cimg11251fd.jpg

cimg11367un.jpg

Just ask if you want a picture in higher res. (or more pics)

There's also a thread with some videos in the Video Offers-section:
http://forum.finalgear.com/viewtopic.php?t=3427&highlight=r32
Probably not too exciting but you can hear the exhaust note, which is pretty sweet.

cya
Oliver

PS: I've said it before and I'll say it again: No, it's not my car. It's my dad's but I drive it more than he does. ;)

Very nice, black suits it perfectly!

How's the DSG?

BTW, your videos are dead.

I noticed too that the videos were down, reuploaded them and editet my post in the Video Offers section! :)

The DSG is really good, much better than any automatic! (I've never driven a car with a normal sequential gearbox/only one clutch, like the M3 SMG, though)

Because there's no torque converter there's no horespower loss. At the same time, the two clutches make the gearchange seamless and very quick without any "traction interruption".
You can use the auto mode or shift manually with the paddles behind the steering wheel or the gearlever. When I'm in traffic I often use the auto mode, but I can still downshift with the paddles for a quick burst of acceleration or to use the engine brake.

All in all, it's a really clever system and probably (like Jason said) the future of gear change. It basically has all of the benefits of an auto (unlike normal sequential gearboxes) with none of the drawbacks.