Help with using vga cables to comp monitors..

SV

Car(s)
'03 BA Ford Falcon XR6
Allright well im about to purchase a vga hdav cable so i can play my 360 on my monitor but i just need to know a few things..

At the moment my monitor is using a DVI cable to connect to the pc so i have a free vga slot avaliable on my monitor. If i just go and plug the xbox 360 into that vga slot without removing the dvi plug what will happen?
Will a menu pop up asking which device i would like to use or will i need to remove the dvi plug?

Basically i dont want to keep disconnecting the monitor from the pc and since i have no knowledge on how to do this, what can be done?

Are there any special switches made so i can just choose which device i want to be on the screen at that particular time?

I actually did that with my normal comp and my laptop.
Normal comp in dvi and laptop in vga.
I have some buttons on the side of my monitor that lets me choose what computer I want to display.

If it doesn't have a popup menu, it will select the newest video source, I rekon...
Vga/Dvi switches aren't that expensive either...

I find using a TV tuner is the easiest and cheapest way to play your console on your monitor. The best part is that you can keep using your PC and you can play in windowed mode. I used to do it all the time before I gave mine to my little sister so she could play PS2 on her PC.

He wants the XBOX 360 to be really HD on his monitor. That works via Component or VGA cable, nothing else...

Buba said:
He wants the XBOX 360 to be really HD on his monitor. That works via Component or VGA cable, nothing else...

Yea what he said, lol..

Could anyone reccommed a good vga/dvi switch?