High Definition Playback Guide

thearrow

Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2007
Messages
60
Sorry if it's a repost, but XenonMKV will allow 360 users to watch the HD rip.

If you use the current build, the audio sync will be off by about a second, so I used build 35 and it worked perfectly.

XenonMKV is built specifically for playing MKVs on the 360, so it follows all the goofy MS requirements, it just changes the AVC level of the video to 4.1 and repackages it in an MP4 container. It does re-encode the audio into 2-channel AAC, though. If you set the quality to q1 in the options you'll end up with a bigger file but hear no audible quality loss.

Stream the file using TVersity or burn a couple eps to DVD and you're golden.
 
Last edited:

Dygear

Active Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2005
Messages
366
Location
Levittown, NY
Car(s)
1992 Ford Mustang LX
Here are the steps with QT Pro.
  1. Download & Install Perrin so Quicktime can open MKVs.
  2. Open QT 7 (on Snow Leopard you have to go find it, not Quicktime Player)
  3. File -> Open -> Choose your MKV
  4. Wait for the MKV to fully load into quicktime (the dark gray progress bar in the QT window will slowly fill up
  5. File -> Export...
  6. In the upper "Export" box at the bottom, select "Movie to MPEG-4"
  7. Choose the Options button to the right
  8. In the File Format box at the top, choose "MP4" and NOT "MP4 (IMSA)"
  9. On the Video poriton, choose "Pass through" for the Video Format
  10. On the Audio "tab" choose AAC LC, Stereo, and I've used 192kbps with success (the original AC-3 file in these MKVs is at 192 as well). Set sample rate to 48000 Hz which is the same as the original (we don't want to do a sample conversion here as it will slow things down).
  11. All Done, OK out of the Options box, and then hit Save to actually create the new file.
Best part is that once you configure the Options a single time they will "stick" for future MPEG-4 conversions, so it is a lot quicker (no screwing with settings first) the second time around.
Awesome post, ZPrime! Once I get a Mac, I'll be sure to use your approach (as I do have QT Pro license for Windows ... I wonder if this would work for me too ... )
 

InSaNeBoY

Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2005
Messages
55
Location
Maine
Car(s)
1974 VW Karmann Ghia
Wanted to add, new version of Handbrake that came out last week works on its own! :mrgreen: So now it's just one step to convert to AppleTV :)


OK. I don't know what was up with the passthrough with MKVTools, but I found it made the video 1818x720 anamorphic so playback was 1280x720 :? In any case MKVTools using built in encoder will make an AppleTV playable mp4! but it's still 1818x720, plays as 1280x720 on ATV. Even so, not ideal IMO

secondly I tried MKVTools passthrough to fix the audio(very quick) than processed in Handbrake to create the final file. This way the weird res can be fixed and made correct 1280x720 Plus handbrake encodes faster and has more control/adjustments. I think I'll be sticking to this method here on out. May also try the 1080i/p version and downsizing to 720p (figure since I have to reencode to make it work should start off with a better file first?)

In any case, I've got it all worked out YAY family will be watching tonight after dinner :cool: next week I've got the process down so I'll have it for Monday night viewing as we've had for past seasons :mrgreen:

YAY HD!!!!
 

ZPrime

New Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
5
Location
Mayfield Hts (Cleveland), OH, USA
Car(s)
2008 Volkswagen R32
Awesome post, ZPrime! Once I get a Mac, I'll be sure to use your approach (as I do have QT Pro license for Windows ... I wonder if this would work for me too ... )
Unfortunately, Apple blows and a QTPro Windows key does NOT work on Mac. If you look hard enough you can find almost anything on the Internet though. :p

The "Perrin" control panel is what enables QTPro on Mac to open the MKV in the first place... unless there is a similar analog on Windows, you won't be able to use this method there. I'd just use mkv2vob or the XenonMKV option posted just above.
 

InSaNeBoY

Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2005
Messages
55
Location
Maine
Car(s)
1974 VW Karmann Ghia
well I don't have QTPro key and Handbrake is free ;)

I also just got the TS of 14x02 Handbrake works great with that as well, reencode to 720p with HB and it looks better than the 720p download version so hurry up and post the TS of 14x03! :)
 

Mystyler

New Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2009
Messages
2
SD version?

SD version?

G'day all,
I've read this entire thread and some of you made reference to 700MB SD versions kicking around the place for Season 14 - yet when I go searching for them all I come across are the 720 and 1080 files. Neither of which will work with my DVD player. It's a nifty Philips with a USB port and all previous 700MB rips worked, it supports Divx.
Is there no way to convert these files into something my DVD player can read? Everything thing else seems to be converting to PS3 or Xbox, I have neither.


Better yet, bring back the SD rips (if they have gone). They looked great on my telly and just WORKED. I can download two of those instead of one 1.45GB (a fifth of my off peak quota!) 720 episode. :mrgreen:

Thanks!
 

Viper007Bond

Chicken Nugget Connoisseur
STAFF MEMBER
Joined
Sep 21, 2003
Messages
31,051
Location
Portland, Oregon
Car(s)
2008 Dodge Viper, 2006 MB CLS55 AMG
They haven't gone anywhere and they're linked to in the exact same place as previous seasons...

Just click on the big, bold "Click here to download our torrent from BT-Chat.com ?" text...
 

pepitko

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2007
Messages
1,913
Location
Prague, CZ
Car(s)
Audi A5, Ducati M796
Unfortunately, Apple blows and a QTPro Windows key does NOT work on Mac. If you look hard enough you can find almost anything on the Internet though. :p.
IMO, this is why MKV4XBOX is a better (and simpler) solution because many people like me, don't have and don't want to buy a Quicktime Pro license.
 

Mystyler

New Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2009
Messages
2
They haven't gone anywhere and they're linked to in the exact same place as previous seasons...

Just click on the big, bold "Click here to download our torrent from BT-Chat.com ?" text...
D'oh. Many thanks, I was blinded by the two HD links above it. :lol:
 

snaabaholic

New Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2009
Messages
9
Location
Cleveland, Ohio
so what are the minimum computing requirements to get the 1080 file to play smoothly? i can play it with various software... but its as choppy as Yan with his Ginsu (from Yan Can Cook).
 

narf

Sgt. Maj. Buzzkill
DONOR
Joined
Feb 1, 2008
Messages
18,061
Location
Kiel/Wherever, Germany
Car(s)
'16 VW The Beetle Cabrio
Apparently more than you have.


There's no way to specify you'll need at least xyz megahurtz in your pc. Try playing it back over your GPU, there's a guide somewhere in the depth of the forums.
 

Varion

New Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2009
Messages
1
Haven't seen this mentioned in this thread so, what happened to the usual ts this week? Was a nice simple 'rename .ts to .mpg, stream to PS3' job like in the first post for episodes 1 and 2, but for episode 3 someone's decided to stick it in a very slightly smaller mkv instead, which isn't anywhere near as simple to deal with.
 

einzack

New Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2009
Messages
6
I have read the entire thread, but couldn't find anything relating to my question:
I want to know whether there's any point in downloading the 720 version to play on my HD TV via my laptop?
I do not have HDMI on my laptop, so can only use S-Video or a 15-pin connector thingy, but want to know whether either of these cables will allow the 720 rip to be shown as such, or whether i should just stick to the SD rip.

cheers,
einzack.
 

Viper007Bond

Chicken Nugget Connoisseur
STAFF MEMBER
Joined
Sep 21, 2003
Messages
31,051
Location
Portland, Oregon
Car(s)
2008 Dodge Viper, 2006 MB CLS55 AMG
Haven't seen this mentioned in this thread so, what happened to the usual ts this week? Was a nice simple 'rename .ts to .mpg, stream to PS3' job like in the first post for episodes 1 and 2, but for episode 3 someone's decided to stick it in a very slightly smaller mkv instead, which isn't anywhere near as simple to deal with.
Honestly I fucked up and thought it was a TS. I wasn't paying attention.

I'll see if I can find a TS.
 

narf

Sgt. Maj. Buzzkill
DONOR
Joined
Feb 1, 2008
Messages
18,061
Location
Kiel/Wherever, Germany
Car(s)
'16 VW The Beetle Cabrio
I want to know whether there's any point in downloading the 720 version to play on my HD TV via my laptop?
I do not have HDMI on my laptop, so can only use S-Video or a 15-pin connector thingy, but want to know whether either of these cables will allow the 720 rip to be shown as such, or whether i should just stick to the SD rip.
S-Video is transmitting SD signals, so there's no point in going for HD content.

If your "15-pin connector thingy" is a D-sub connector with three rows of pins (DE15, analogue VGA monitor connection) then you should be able to transmit HD content.
 

einzack

New Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2009
Messages
6
S-Video is transmitting SD signals, so there's no point in going for HD content.

If your "15-pin connector thingy" is a D-sub connector with three rows of pins (DE15, analogue VGA monitor connection) then you should be able to transmit HD content.
thanks alot!
sounds like it is D-sub connector that i've got so i'll try that for next weeks episode.
 

Kiskaloo

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2009
Messages
1,283
Location
Seattle, WA
Do note that a number of LCD TVs only support a maximum of 1600x1200 via DB15/VGA inputs, so you might want to check your user manual.
 

einzack

New Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2009
Messages
6
i've had a quick look at my TV's manual and it's got a few bits of info, but this seems to be the one i want right?
Max. display resolution (for PC connection)
4:3 - 1,440 x 1,080 pixels
16:9 - 1,920 x 1,080 pixels


that seems to be good news right...
 

einzack

New Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2009
Messages
6
i've had a quick look at my TV's manual and it's got a few bits of info, but this seems to be the one i want right?
Max. display resolution (for PC connection)
4:3 - 1,440 x 1,080 pixels
16:9 - 1,920 x 1,080 pixels


that seems to be good news right...
 
Top