Jake's culinary adventures (good food and better booze)

Jacobfox

Car(s)
VW GTI 4-Door (MKVI)
I'm no professional, nor am I a rib-making champ like The_Finn or Punisher Bass, but I'd consider myself a decent cook. I can do a nice gazpacho or panini, I can make pretty much any Indian food (including some chaats), and I can grill a nice steak or burger. This thread, however, isn't just my cooking, which has been a bit intermittent as of late, but just my exploration of food and drink in all forms.

We're going to start off with Gazpacho, a recipe which I just used this week. Gazpacho is a classic summer recipe, created by the Spanish in Andalusia as a cold bread-based soup for summer days. Once the tomato and bell pepper were introduced to the recipe in the early 1500s, the character of the soup changed. Since my grandmother always cooks this at least three times a summer, it's been a mainstay of my time at home and always conjures up fond memories for me. Unfortunately, I didn't want to cover my camera with tomato juice, so I have no pictures from when I prepared it this week although I have a few notes on possible missing ingredient improvisations.

GAZPACHO RECIPE

16 oz. tomatoes (peeled or unpeeled depending on preference)
1 large cucumber, peeled & halved
1 med. onion, skin off & halved
1 Med. green pepper, quartered
24 oz. tomato juice
1/3 C olive oil (it's not as good with other veggie oil)
1/3 C red wine vinegar (see if you can find a 7% acidity vinegar, you can substitute others, but it's really best like this, add more to taste)
1/2 Teaspoon Tabasco or hot sauce (add more to taste)
1&1/2 Teaspoons salt (add more to taste)
1 clove garlic
Avocado and Cilantro garnish

In an electric blender/Cuisinart, combine one tomato, half the
cucumber, half the onion, a green pepper quarter, garlic clove and 1/2
cup tomato juice. Blend for 30 seconds to puree,
In a large bowl, mix the pureed vegetables with remaining tomato