Motocycles for Newbies - A collection of info

JipJopJones

Car(s)
1979 Cressida Wagon, 1981 Corolla Hardtop
So I know there is plenty of info in the Random Thoughts thread, but it's all spaced out, so I thought I'd make a thread dedicated for new riders.

I, having just gotten my license, have a few questions.

What's a good bike to start out with?

I'm a poor college student, so I've been looking at old Honda CBs, CJs, Suzuki TSs and things of the sort. The more info I have the better off I'll feel about diving into purchasing a bike.

Also... I have no gear.

I was looking at HJC CL-16 helmets today. They seem to fit nice and are reasonably priced ($160)
I was also looking at the Basic MC Jacket (leather) from River Road. It's pretty cool looking, but I know very little about anything to do with gear.

What else will I need? Boots? Gloves? Pants?

Perhaps I'll update this first post with more info as it's given to me; that way we have a complete resource for new riders. :cool:

A good starters bike on the sporty side of things, the Suzuki SV650 (naked, handlebars) or SV650S (faired, clip-ons).

650cc liquid cooled V-Twin putting out around 70hp. Fast enough to get you into trouble, but a bike that can grow with you and perfect also as a first track bike.

In fact, if I buy a newer track only bike to replace my '88 FZR 400, I would really consider getting another SV as an alternative to the usual 600 ss candidates.

Last edited:
Looks like a nice bike, but what sort of price can they be had for? I'm looking for something under $2000, remember... poor student. :p

Brand new they where relatively cheap, around 6 or 7000$ around here.

Second hand here people are asking a lot in my opinion, like 4500$ for a 2006 or 6500$ for a more recent one.

I believe between 3000 and 4000 is a good price for one in good condition.

The more recent ones are available with ABS, and with full fairing instead of half fairing for the S.