MS forces me to reboot but i dont want to

bigfoot1942

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2004
Messages
864
Location
Holland
i have Windows XP SP2 running on my workstation, and i installed some updates.
But i dont want to reboot, ill reboot when ATI releases new drivers, or when i get a BSOD, but not now.

but i get those annoying popups that say "do you want to restart now". After a day i think those are really annoying. but what do i see now?

crap2yh.jpg


so if i went away, my pc would reboot automatically, but i dont want that. it should keep downloading as it is damnit.

anyhow, i managed to get the old restart question back, as long as i dont click it away, my pc wont reboot. at least i think so.

BTW does anybody know a workaround for this so i can get the automatic updates popup off my screen?


update: i found out the countdown starts anyhow. damnit. HELP!!!
its 3.21AM over here and i need to go to sleep...
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2003
Messages
4,905
Location
Decorah, IA
Car(s)
2004 Subaru Impreza WRX STI (USDM)
I assume you're at least going to shut off automatic updates?

Can you force quit the process that belongs to the dialog?
 

bahnstormer

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2004
Messages
1,493
Location
NJ, USA
yeah i'd turn off automatic updates they are super nosey...
also if u want that stupid uptime script running and want to get
a record or whatever, setup a laptop to run all the time...
they use low power and will save u costs =] install like winNT or 2k onit
 

bigfoot1942

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2004
Messages
864
Location
Holland
ESPNSTI said:
Can you force quit the process that belongs to the dialog?
i did, but windows restarts the process....
btw i downloaded the updates manually, i thik its important to update your software to prevent getting hacked etc.

but its stupid to force users to do things imho... It my PC, i paid for it.
 

Mischief007

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2004
Messages
4,710
Location
London, Ontario, Canada
Car(s)
1995 Chevy Camaro Z28, 04 VW Jetta GLS
Do it manually next time. After a certain point of asking to restart and me replying no to restart, it won't ask you :D.
 

bigfoot1942

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2004
Messages
864
Location
Holland
bigfoot1942 said:
btw i downloaded the updates manually
Mischief007 said:
Do it manually next time. After a certain point of asking to restart and me replying no to restart, it won't ask you :D.
errr..... :(
 

Mischief007

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2004
Messages
4,710
Location
London, Ontario, Canada
Car(s)
1995 Chevy Camaro Z28, 04 VW Jetta GLS
bigfoot: What's confusing you?? :)

Manually downloading the updates or saying no to restart and it won't ask you after a certain while.
 

Mischief007

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2004
Messages
4,710
Location
London, Ontario, Canada
Car(s)
1995 Chevy Camaro Z28, 04 VW Jetta GLS
Kip_6666 said:
switch to w2k :)

good idea. Can't hurt because that's what XP is based off.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2003
Messages
4,905
Location
Decorah, IA
Car(s)
2004 Subaru Impreza WRX STI (USDM)
bigfoot1942 said:
ESPNSTI said:
Can you force quit the process that belongs to the dialog?
i did, but windows restarts the process....
Sounds like some sort of service would do that, see if there is something you can disable in the "services" control panel.
I still run Win2K, so I have no idea what though.

Mischief007 said:
Kip_6666 said:
switch to w2k :)
good idea. Can't hurt because that's what XP is based off.
I've always viewed XP as Win2k, but uglier, buggier and more annoying. :lol:
 

bigfoot1942

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2004
Messages
864
Location
Holland
Mischief007 said:
bigfoot: What's confusing you?? :)

Manually downloading the updates or saying no to restart and it won't ask you after a certain while.
i did download the updates manually, i ve been saying no to restarts for a day, and instead of not asking anymore it added a countdown timer to the popup. so youre advising something i tried but doesnt work.
;)
 

Cruzz563

Needs a job!
Joined
Dec 8, 2003
Messages
2,725
Location
Houston, Texas, The States
Car(s)
Hammerhead Eagle i-Thrust (Do want)
So what do you still need to do? Have you turned off automatic updates yet? :)
 

Cruzz563

Needs a job!
Joined
Dec 8, 2003
Messages
2,725
Location
Houston, Texas, The States
Car(s)
Hammerhead Eagle i-Thrust (Do want)
Who?

It's a workstation, he may have a server set up on that particular computer or some other program that's a hassle when you need to restart.
 

Mischief007

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2004
Messages
4,710
Location
London, Ontario, Canada
Car(s)
1995 Chevy Camaro Z28, 04 VW Jetta GLS
bigfoot1942 said:
Mischief007 said:
bigfoot: What's confusing you?? :)

Manually downloading the updates or saying no to restart and it won't ask you after a certain while.
i did download the updates manually, i ve been saying no to restarts for a day, and instead of not asking anymore it added a countdown timer to the popup. so youre advising something i tried but doesnt work.
;)

Never seen that before. Strange. I know it never asks me. I'll try it and see what happens.
 

bigfoot1942

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2004
Messages
864
Location
Holland
i was downloading off usenet, and the files (parts) were to be removed anytime. I had to reboot, (given up on pressing the delay butten) so about 20% of the parts were already removed from the server. if i didnt have to reboot i might have been able to download all the parts.
now the whole file is lost.

but anyhow, i think its stupid MS forces me to reboot.
 
Top