My 1998 Subaru Outback

Bhatman

Car(s)
98 Subaru Outback(RIP), 02 Subaru Outback
Allow me to introduce myself and my car:

I am a student at Cal Poly: San Luis Obispo (SLO), CA and have had this Subaru since July 2008. I got it at around 99,000 miles and now have it at 103,000mi.

It been great to me so far as the HG's were done before I bought the car and so far ive put in a deck and swapped the stock Outback wheels for GT wheels and new rubber. Also replaced the leather seats with 06 WRX seats too(pics later).

IMG_0084.jpg

IMG_0083.jpg

IMG_0081.jpg

This was taken at a meet in Davis, CA about a wk ago.
163.jpg

Yes! Another Subie :D

Good swaps so far, I'm sure the '06 seats are a very nice step up. Looks like she's had a couple encounters with some objects on the bumpers, plan to repaint/replace in the future?

which engine does it have ? Is it nice to drive ?

Either a 2.5L (DOHC) or a 2.2L (SOHC) the outback was sold with both...

Last edited:
It would be the 2.5L because it was the 2.5L that got sold with the bonnet scoop in America. The Americans (like the Aussies) missed out on the turbo charged variant for that generation of Legacy.

i could be wrong but i believe that all outbacks were sold with the scoop regardless of engine atleast in the states.

Yes! Another Subie :D

Good swaps so far, I'm sure the '06 seats are a very nice step up. Looks like she's had a couple encounters with some objects on the bumpers, plan to repaint/replace in the future?

Thanks! The seats are way more comfortable than the Leather GT's seats which were fitted in STOCK by the previous owner(I guess he didnt like the stock Outback seats either...). I was originally looking for 02 WRX seats, but usually there over 250.00 and I found these seats from an 06 owner just wanting to get rid of them.