My Monaro has its first issue

SL65

Ambitious but rubbish!
Joined
Jul 12, 2004
Messages
9,326
Location
Sydney, Australia
Car(s)
1998 Subaru Legacy 2.5L
As everyone has said - no worries, the warrenty should cover it, but still, it's damn annoying visiting the dealer when you shouldn't have too :( And believe me I know as my parents own a Mercedes.... :roll:

Other than this issue - you've been liking the car right? It's been sometime since you got it now.

I do love how you call it the "Monaro" btw :D
 

Greatgraddage

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 7, 2004
Messages
1,200
Location
Ottawa, Canada
I see dodgy digital displays on cars all the time, can't make a thing out on my dads 93. I think vibrations just detach the wires at the back somewhat.
 

Janus

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2005
Messages
1,354
Location
Adelaide, Australia
I had the same thing happen to the climate control screen on my last car, which was a VY Holden, and uses the exact same displays.

I think it was a couple of hours in the dealership and they replaced the centre displays and it was done.
 

gtrietsc

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2004
Messages
1,582
Location
Allen, TX USA
Car(s)
'07 Ford F-150 FX4, '06 BMW M5
SL65AMG~V12~612BHP!!!!!!! said:
As everyone has said - no worries, the warrenty should cover it, but still, it's damn annoying visiting the dealer when you shouldn't have too :( And believe me I know as my parents own a Mercedes.... :roll:

Other than this issue - you've been liking the car right? It's been sometime since you got it now.

I do love how you call it the "Monaro" btw :D
Hehe - Well, it is one! Even the sticker on the door panel says manufactured by Holden.

Otherwise, yea - I have been liking the car. I replaced the factory stereo with a Pioneer AVIC-D2 navigation unit, and installed XM satellite radio with the NavTraffic service as well. I also made sure to add a 3M ClearBra to the fron tof the car very early on, to protect from rock chips.

The display worked fine yesterday after I scheduled the service appointment, but is malfunctioning again today. I guess the real bummer is that I dont know how many extra instrument clusters GM keeps in stock for this car in the US. If it isnt many, I may have to wait for one to come from across the pond...
 

gtrietsc

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2004
Messages
1,582
Location
Allen, TX USA
Car(s)
'07 Ford F-150 FX4, '06 BMW M5
Greatgraddage said:
I see dodgy digital displays on cars all the time, can't make a thing out on my dads 93. I think vibrations just detach the wires at the back somewhat.
On a 93, I would kind of expect it. On a 2006 model that is only a few months old, its unacceptable.
 

VUK

Active Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2003
Messages
434
Location
UK, Grays
Car(s)
2001 BMW M5 CARBON BLACK
escessive heat can do that or high voltage
 

kaBOOMn

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2006
Messages
849
Location
Adelaide, South Australia
A guy I cruise with returned a brand new STi WRX (2.5 Litre) after a heap of problems....he eventually got fed up with it (mostly related to poor cornering ability)

He's now got a EVO and thats given him a few mechanical gremlins from the factory....(and he hasn't even got upto 1000km's yet!) like timeing belt tensioners etc

I suppose 12K and then a problem is quite good compared to hhis run of luck....
 

gtrietsc

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2004
Messages
1,582
Location
Allen, TX USA
Car(s)
'07 Ford F-150 FX4, '06 BMW M5
Well, its been at the dealer for two days now, while I drive a POS Chevy Cobalt.

Good news: The cluster has been replaced.

Bad news: The car will not start now.

They think the PCM is fried for some reason. :(

They should get another PCM tomorrow. Maybe I will get it back then. Hopefully.
 

gtrietsc

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2004
Messages
1,582
Location
Allen, TX USA
Car(s)
'07 Ford F-150 FX4, '06 BMW M5
Update:

The new PCM is in.

The service advisor called asking if I have the security card. This is an item I tried several times to get, unsuccessfully, from my dealership that sold me the car. First they claimed it didnt exist(no such thing), then that it should be in my owner packet (it wasnt), and finally admitted they have no idea how to obtain another one. They said if I ever needed the code, for instance to have the radio replaced, they could hook up a scan tool and read the code. At that moment I was so fed up with dealing with those clowns, I just forgot about it.

So anyway, the advisor says they need the security card to be able to reprogram the BCM (Body Control Module). I told him I dont have it, and why, and he said that they will probably have to order a new BCM, which means up to two more days at the dealership.

Meanwhile, I continue racking up miles in this Cobalt. I should post photos - it looks like a car that mechanics go joyriding in daily. Seats stained, etc.
 

holdennutta

Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
12
Location
Brisbane, Australia
Car(s)
Pajero
No Boss said:
ZOMG, Itz teh l3aF sp1ngs!! GM no wai!!1

/What's wrong, the display is all black?
No leaf springs on a monaro my friend...

Shame to hear about the incompetance of your dealers, kinda wrecks the ownership experience when the people that should have a clue how to fix your car actually have bugger all idea :(
 

kaBOOMn

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2006
Messages
849
Location
Adelaide, South Australia
*sigh* Yeah sounds like it.....

Lol the last leaf springed Holden besides the "new" 1 Tonner and the crewman(which doesn't really count) was what, erm 1977?
 

gtrietsc

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2004
Messages
1,582
Location
Allen, TX USA
Car(s)
'07 Ford F-150 FX4, '06 BMW M5
Well, its been three months, and now my Monaro is in the shop again. This time, it had to be flat bedded in to service. Christmas Day, I went to my grandma's house, came home, and then when I went to pick up the fiance from the airport, it wouldn't start. I had to take her Mustang. The next day, it worked fine.

Today, I drove it half the day, then when I went to leave my parents house, again, it wont start.

And this is not a problem like the battery is going dead - the damn thing wont even CLICK like it is going to try to start - it acts like I havent depressed the clutch. I suspect a computer problem, since they had to do a lot of computer replacing/reprogramming when it was in for the dash cluster replacement 3 months ago.

I am seriously entertaining dumping this thing. I have had Fords for 10 years and NEVER had problems like these.
 

Hidden_Hunter

Needs more IceBone
Joined
Oct 7, 2006
Messages
8,615
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Car(s)
'13 BMW 125i, '26 Buick Standard Six
Probably didn't fix something properally when they had it apart last time, stick with the car you'll continue to enjoy it i'm sure :p (unless they bring in the new commodore then I say upgrade to that, lol - i'm biased)
 

SL65

Ambitious but rubbish!
Joined
Jul 12, 2004
Messages
9,326
Location
Sydney, Australia
Car(s)
1998 Subaru Legacy 2.5L
Silly unreliable American cars...:p Maybe your being Overhauled :ph34r: That would be awesome...


If its really causing you so many problems and your not enjoying it, maybe you should trade it in for something else. The new Commodore is going to America so you'll be able to get the Commodore SS-V (4-door) rebadged as a Pontiac something-or-rather.
 

gtrietsc

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2004
Messages
1,582
Location
Allen, TX USA
Car(s)
'07 Ford F-150 FX4, '06 BMW M5
GM is still on their "no rental car coverage on the first day" bullshit - another plus for Ford. If I hadnt demanded a rental, they would have sent me packing. BS!
 

kaBOOMn

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2006
Messages
849
Location
Adelaide, South Australia
Well, its been three months, and now my Monaro is in the shop again. This time, it had to be flat bedded in to service. Christmas Day, I went to my grandma's house, came home, and then when I went to pick up the fiance from the airport, it wouldn't start. I had to take her Mustang. The next day, it worked fine.

Today, I drove it half the day, then when I went to leave my parents house, again, it wont start.

And this is not a problem like the battery is going dead - the damn thing wont even CLICK like it is going to try to start - it acts like I havent depressed the clutch. I suspect a computer problem, since they had to do a lot of computer replacing/reprogramming when it was in for the dash cluster replacement 3 months ago.

I am seriously entertaining dumping this thing. I have had Fords for 10 years and NEVER had problems like these.
Strange, all the local ones never had those kinds of problems (I know quite a few people who work for Holdens)......maybe when when the cars are shipped to the US they are "Americanized" :lol:

Actually maybe the security system is diffrent to the Australian domestic market cars, since they don't come with a pack like that....or at least my GF's mum's VY didn't.....It wouldn't supprise me if its the security system.....my old Holden VL Commodore Calais Turbo had a factory alarm that was nothing but trouble....
 
Top