Mystery knob under dashboard, 1989 Toyota Blizzard with 2L-T diesel

thevictor390

Teen Wankeler
Car(s)
'17 Mazda MX-5 RF, '89 Toyota Blizzard SX5
Hi guys, PYC coming soon as I just heard that the registration went through and will be picking up plates tomorrow, but I wanted to know if anyone has any idea what this knob is for:

It's just under the steering wheel and turns like a screw (tightens when turned clockwise and loosens when turned counter-clockwise). Turning left eventually just releases it to spin freely but it doesn't come off.

The only thing I can notice is that the engine seems change idle speed based on the position of the knob, with a slight delay. It goes from ~500rpm to ~1000rpm.

Is it intended for cold starts or something? Where should I leave it under normal driving? I am completely new to diesel and everyone I ask seems to have no idea :dunno:

RdKetchup

Snow Mexican Surender Monkey
DONOR
Car(s)
FoRS, Japanese touring triple
This looks like an actual choke knob, not an idle adjustment knob. I'm guessing you have a carburetor?

thevictor390

Teen Wankeler
Car(s)
'17 Mazda MX-5 RF, '89 Toyota Blizzard SX5
This looks like an actual choke knob, not an idle adjustment knob. I'm guessing you have a carburetor?
I'll be the first to admit virtually zero mechanical knowledge, but this seems to indicate that all diesel engines are fuel injected:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fuel_injection

That is indeed an idle adjustment knob... never had one myself though :dunno: afaik it's for increasing the idle speed for a cold start if the engine is too shaky otherwise, and speeds up the warming.

http://www.pointedthree.com/disc/forums/showthread.php?tid=7576&start=1
This is what I suspected but wanted to be sure before driving around with it on the wrong setting!

Last edited:

BerserkerCatSplat

Hormone Induced
Car(s)
The Jeep of Theseus, Angry Wagon