Need help burning DVDs

Censport

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2008
Messages
595
Location
Nashville TN, USA
Car(s)
Xterra, '63 Corvair, '06 Yamaha FZ6
So I've got all these episodes of TG in .avi format, and I want to burn some to DVD so I can drop them off with my dad. I'm trying to use Windows Media Player, and yes, I have downloaded and installed the XViD codec so WMP will play .avi's.

However, when I attempt to make a DVD, WMP gets all the way to 99.0%, then ejects the disc and says there is an error. It won't say what the error is, and I've yet to successfully make a single DVD.

Any suggestions?
 

Crazyjeeper

NickGyver
DONOR
Joined
Nov 29, 2006
Messages
7,939
Location
Dallas, TX
Car(s)
F150, CJ7, Mustang GT, Tenere, Griso
Are you trying to burn it to play in a normal DVD player or just as data?
 

Censport

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2008
Messages
595
Location
Nashville TN, USA
Car(s)
Xterra, '63 Corvair, '06 Yamaha FZ6
For a normal DVD player, so Dad can pop it in and watch it on his widescreen TV.
 

Archie411

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2007
Messages
4,542
Location
Sri Lankan gone down under
Car(s)
Go away....look at something else...
For a normal DVD player, so Dad can pop it in and watch it on his widescreen TV.
Well unless your fathers DVD player can play Divx files its no use by "just" writting the TG episodes to the DVD
There is a software called VSO ConvertXtoDVD which does what you want. Only thing is that it will require more DVDs than when writing TG episodes in avi format.
 
Last edited:

Censport

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2008
Messages
595
Location
Nashville TN, USA
Car(s)
Xterra, '63 Corvair, '06 Yamaha FZ6
Well, I was hoping for something free, but I'll buy a program if it's worth the money. I'll do the free trial of VSO and see how it works. Looks like I can use it to add subtitles for my Japanese dramas too.
 

Sevs753

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2009
Messages
2,788
Location
Metro Detroit
Car(s)
'13 Subaru BRZ, '04 GMC Yukon
you can download the nero trial. thats what i used to do the same thing
 

Matt2000

Disco Stu-pid
DONOR
Joined
Feb 17, 2006
Messages
14,872
Location
Escaped cows, Englandshire
Car(s)
Tesla Model 3, 90 Discovery 1, 05 Smart Roadster
I've never been able to get WMP to make DVDs, but that's not a problem for me.

I personally use a (ripped) copy of WinAVI to create the DVD folders (very quickly) and then burn them using DVD shrink. I don't do this any more though because I just have everything on the NAS drive. :)
 

NecroJoe

Forum Addict
Joined
Apr 12, 2005
Messages
19,303
Location
San Francisco area, CA, USA
Car(s)
2015 Mazda 3 S GT, 2015 VW e-Golf
Make sure you've got enough space on your hard drive. I burn DVD Video discs a lot, and every so often I'll get a string of errors and coasters, and it will take a few before I realize I've only got 2-3GB left on the drive used to hold the temp file.
 

brydie76

Viva Las Clarksonistas!
Joined
Oct 28, 2008
Messages
3,053
Location
Australia
Car(s)
2012 Suzuki Swift Sport/Aprilia Sportcity 200
If you have Windows Vista... *hides*

Use Windows DVD Maker, it does all the converting and techincal stuff for you. You can make some really awesome menus too, I have made ones with the Top Gear theme playing, the DVD title in almost perfect Top Gear font and this effect that has little boxes of previews playing that looks like the opening titles. Epically awesome....
 

Sevs753

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2009
Messages
2,788
Location
Metro Detroit
Car(s)
'13 Subaru BRZ, '04 GMC Yukon
If you have Windows Vista... *hides*

Use Windows DVD Maker, it does all the converting and techincal stuff for you. You can make some really awesome menus too, I have made ones with the Top Gear theme playing, the DVD title in almost perfect Top Gear font and this effect that has little boxes of previews playing that looks like the opening titles. Epically awesome....
just my 2 cents. i tired windows dvd maker and i could only fit 2 episodes on a dvd whereas with nero, i could fit 3 per dvd.
 

Censport

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2008
Messages
595
Location
Nashville TN, USA
Car(s)
Xterra, '63 Corvair, '06 Yamaha FZ6
So far, I've tried the trial version of VSO ConvertXtoDVD, DVDflick, and Windows DVD Maker. Nothing has worked yet.

And just what is the Top Gear font?
 

brydie76

Viva Las Clarksonistas!
Joined
Oct 28, 2008
Messages
3,053
Location
Australia
Car(s)
2012 Suzuki Swift Sport/Aprilia Sportcity 200
^ I use an italicised Arial Black. It isn't exact, but it's as close as you can get. I think people on here have tried to find the font before and it doesn't exist in the public domain.

What went wrong with Windows DVD maker? Did you get any error messages, or did it just take forever? Taking forever is normal- mine takes about 4 hours to make one DVD :S
 

Censport

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2008
Messages
595
Location
Nashville TN, USA
Car(s)
Xterra, '63 Corvair, '06 Yamaha FZ6
As I said in post #1, it gets to 99% and then says there's an error and quits. I'm trying it again now, this time with just one episode (Polar Special).
 

Archie411

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2007
Messages
4,542
Location
Sri Lankan gone down under
Car(s)
Go away....look at something else...
^ VSO works! I know because I have used it ALOT and its easy. For the trail issues, just search you know cough torrents cough :p

And for the error issue see whether you have sufficent space in the C drive. (That dosent really work with me because I only have 1.64Gb of space left and it still writes DVDs so :?)
And how about smaller things like CDs? When you write them do you get any errors?
 

Censport

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2008
Messages
595
Location
Nashville TN, USA
Car(s)
Xterra, '63 Corvair, '06 Yamaha FZ6
Y'know, I don't remember if I've tried burning any CD's on this computer...

As for space, I point the program to my external hard drive, which still has about 300Gb or so unused.
 

Archie411

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2007
Messages
4,542
Location
Sri Lankan gone down under
Car(s)
Go away....look at something else...
As I remember the temp folder is in C drive. It does not create it near the source file. So hows the C drive space?
And I just remembered I have the TG font. When I was making covers I did a search (Took quite a whle) but I found it.
Its called "HelveticaNeueLTStd-BlkCn" Any realiable hosting places?
Here you go. The closest thing for the TG font. :)
 
Last edited:

Censport

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2008
Messages
595
Location
Nashville TN, USA
Car(s)
Xterra, '63 Corvair, '06 Yamaha FZ6
Uh-oh, I only have about 4Gb of space left on the C: drive.

Don't about hosting places. All I've ever had use for is Photobucket.
 

brydie76

Viva Las Clarksonistas!
Joined
Oct 28, 2008
Messages
3,053
Location
Australia
Car(s)
2012 Suzuki Swift Sport/Aprilia Sportcity 200
^ are you using a HP computer by any chance?

http://social.technet.microsoft.com...s/thread/5cb0a40d-223c-4aed-87c4-3c63f400ee81

This page has bit of info on the problem, and a link to an update about the issue for HPs. However, both the update and the solution involve messing with the registry, hence I do not endorse it. Might just be a starting point for further research.

Clearing some space up in C: and pointing the temp files to be stored on your external drive may help, but I would expect that to throw up errors before 99%. Although your program may be jumping from a smaller percentage to the 99% as part of the rror, which would explain a bit.

Hope that helps :)

(And Archie411, thanks for the font. I think that the former TG website developer mentioned they had a tweaked version of Helvetica as the TG font, and yours looks prety close- there's a few weighting and spacing differences, biut I'm not going to be picky- THANKYOU!!! :))
 

Censport

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2008
Messages
595
Location
Nashville TN, USA
Car(s)
Xterra, '63 Corvair, '06 Yamaha FZ6
As a matter of fact, it is an HP. Thanks for the link!

And the thanks for the font, Archie411!


ETA: According to the link, it's a Vista problem that Microsoft has no intention of ever addressing. Looks like I'll have to dig out my old XP desktop and put DVDflicks on it and see if that works.
 
Last edited:
Top