Nikon DSLR advice

Jens

Car(s)
BMW 116d, W124 250D
Dear photographers of Final Gear,

I'm looking for a new DSLR (well new or used), and because I have no first hand experience with any of the following cameras I could use some advice.
First of, my previous camera was a D5000. With this purchase I would like to up the game a bit so this means I would rather get away from the entry level stuff (I'm still going to list them anyway for comparison and opinions).

Budget for the body: around ?650,00 is the maximum I would want spend (give or take a couple of tenners)

What I'm considering at the moment:

- Nikon D3100, ?459,00 new: money to spare, better than my D5000 on paper
- Nikon D5100, ?559,00 new: still quite entry levelish, not sure if worth premium over D3100
- Nikon D7000, used prices seem to vary wildly as does availability but I'm aiming at ?650 - ?700 for one in good condition.
- Nikon D90 - ?639,00 new but it is a bit dated so buying used seems like a better option, found one for around ?450

I have watched a fair bit of reviews of all these devices and the D7000 is obviously the best, but I still have some questions:

- How does the (slightly dated?) D90 compare to it's successor, the D7000 and the entry level models (which do have a higher MP count, although that is not that important nowadays)? I'm thinking noise performance, general image quality,...

Thanks in advance guys

Cough up some extra money and pre order the D800 awww yeahhh

Cough up a fuckton of extra money and pre order the D800 awww shite

FTFY

I'd go for the D7000, in fact I did go for the D7000 last year, in a pretty similar situation. I don't have all the numbers in my head but the D3100 and D5100 probably won't be worth the money and the D90 is getting on now, it lacks features that made me wait to pay extra for a new D7000, plus the better sensor, better noise performance, etc.