Random thoughts.... [Tech Edition]

Adunaphel

KLAUWD
STAFF MEMBER
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
11,568
Location
Fermany
Car(s)
'18 Clio; '13 Cube Hyde
XP mode sucks, don't bother. Get VMware workstation and run XP in there, much better.
 

Thomas93

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2008
Messages
1,656
Location
blighty
Car(s)
one day
I have been using a dual-monitor setup for all of ten minutes. I can already see how much more productive I am going to be :D
 

Thomas93

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2008
Messages
1,656
Location
blighty
Car(s)
one day
But when they are different sizes, resolutions and distances from you they can be a pain, but the perfect set is ace :)
 

thevictor390

Teen Wankeler
Joined
Mar 9, 2007
Messages
11,890
Location
Massachusetts
Car(s)
'17 Mazda MX-5 RF, '89 Toyota Blizzard SX5
I use a laptop in a docking station, and even though I have a 1680 x 1050 monitor I find it quite useful to flip up the 1024 x 768 laptop screen.
 

JakeRadden

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2007
Messages
3,485
Location
Plainfield, Illinois
Car(s)
2014 Mustang, 2015 Edge, 2015 Sonata
I use a laptop in a docking station, and even though I have a 1680 x 1050 monitor I find it quite useful to flip up the 1024 x 768 laptop screen.
My laptop monitor is generally used for The Office, Battlestar Galactica, or other various TV shows / movies.

Then I do "work" on my main 22".

When I say "Work" I mean browse forums.
 

nsx_23

Forum Addict
Joined
May 9, 2009
Messages
7,709
I am wondering if I should buy this: Linky

I kind of want a cheap wheel just for the PC.
 

thevictor390

Teen Wankeler
Joined
Mar 9, 2007
Messages
11,890
Location
Massachusetts
Car(s)
'17 Mazda MX-5 RF, '89 Toyota Blizzard SX5
You'll need an adapter and it has no force feedback or anything. I actually have a similar wheel lying around that's decent enough. For $10, how bad can it be?
 

nsx_23

Forum Addict
Joined
May 9, 2009
Messages
7,709
What kind of adapter?

I have a driving force pro, but it just refuses to work with my pc.
 

thevictor390

Teen Wankeler
Joined
Mar 9, 2007
Messages
11,890
Location
Massachusetts
Car(s)
'17 Mazda MX-5 RF, '89 Toyota Blizzard SX5
It's for a Playstation or PS2, that's the adapter you'd need. They're not uncommon and they work well but that's another $10.
 

Matt2000

An Unfortunate Discovery
DONOR
Joined
Feb 17, 2006
Messages
15,073
Location
Escaped cows, Englandshire
Car(s)
2020 Tesla Model 3, 1990 Discovery 1 Bobtail
The Driving Force Pro works fine with the PC, so don't go spending any more cash on another wheel. Get hold of the Logitech software first. Sometimes it will be detected as the old Driving Force, but I can't remember the workaround for that.
 

Matt2000

An Unfortunate Discovery
DONOR
Joined
Feb 17, 2006
Messages
15,073
Location
Escaped cows, Englandshire
Car(s)
2020 Tesla Model 3, 1990 Discovery 1 Bobtail
The 'IRQL_LESS_THAN blah blah blah' error? It's the drivers, and I got that with an old Wingman Force joystick until I updated the Logitech Gaming Software. If you don't have the latest version, try that first. I assume we're talking Windows XP too?
 

Matt2000

An Unfortunate Discovery
DONOR
Joined
Feb 17, 2006
Messages
15,073
Location
Escaped cows, Englandshire
Car(s)
2020 Tesla Model 3, 1990 Discovery 1 Bobtail
Ah, don't have Vista so I've never tried to run it on there. It worked alright on 7 RC though before I had to reinstall it, not tried it on this installation of RC yet.
 
Top