Random thoughts.... [Tech Edition]

Davetouch

is un-Stoppable
Joined
Jul 30, 2006
Messages
8,552
Location
Longbridge, Birminghamland
Car(s)
'00 9-3 2.0 Turbo Vert, Various MGs, '99 Ringoo
Yay! My iPod died! I am pretty sure it's the battery (it will still play songs when plugged into the mains - so the HDD seems to be fine), so will just shove a new battery in it and hope it works. Because I don't want to spend a load of money buying a new one.
 

Ramseus

Have you been high today?
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
5,605
Location
Derpronto
So, this card has two DVI outputs.

Apparently, some of the reviews say it also comes with a DVI-to-HDMI connector, and a small cable to connect the soundcard to the graphics card to carry it through the HDMI.

Am I missing something? Is this for real? Does this actually work well?
http://www.amazon.com/EVGA-896-P3-1...raphics/dp/tech-data/B001NXDQD6/ref=de_a_smtd

My desktop's hooked up to my TV with a DVI-HDMI adapter with no issues at all. Don't know anything about the sound, but that sounds neato burrito (and yet I wouldn't use it if I had it, seperate audio system and all that jazz)
 

NecroJoe

Stool Chef
Joined
Apr 12, 2005
Messages
20,370
Location
San Francisco area, CA, USA
Car(s)
2015 Mazda 3 S GT, 2015 VW e-Golf
My question was more about the combining of the DVI and the audio to output to HDMI. I'd love it if I could just have the audio go out sep, but my girlfriend can hardly figure out that that she needs to turn on the DVD player before the TV will recognize it as a source...
 

teeb

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2005
Messages
3,497
Location
Bordeaux, France.
Car(s)
old Saab 9-3 coup?
Fixed my N95!

newn95.jpg


Yes, I fixed it using duck tape. And hax.

(The 'volume down' button has completely gone and it's no longer under warranty, mainly as I took a screwdriver to the internals to try and fix it. Oddly that's the only way to control the volume on an N95. Solution? Third-party mp3 player program, whose volume is controlled using left and right.

As for the duck tape, well, I bought a replacement battery which turned out to be slightly too large (possibly the wrong type, but it works and lasts ages), so duck tape holds the battery cover on.)
 

NecroJoe

Stool Chef
Joined
Apr 12, 2005
Messages
20,370
Location
San Francisco area, CA, USA
Car(s)
2015 Mazda 3 S GT, 2015 VW e-Golf
I once had a string of adapters going from my microphone, keyboard and computer into my VCR that was 11" long. I was missing the adapters that would have completed the job in just a couple additions, so I kept having to switch back and forth. It worked. Wore out the input on the VCR because it was so heavy, but it worked.
 

PacketCollision

Server Admin/Crasher
STAFF MEMBER
Joined
Feb 19, 2007
Messages
1,297
Location
San Francisco
Car(s)
generator on wheels
Trying to hook my Xbox up to my head unit should have been easy (both RCA), but the cable had to go around the whole room and the only cord I could find that was both long and skinny enough to be tucked between the wall and the carpet was a really long headphone extension cable. Radioshack's wall-o-connectors failed me (would have cost $20 and been about 8" long, but I was able to buy a couple $.99 parts and solder exactly what was needed.
 

darkshark0159

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2007
Messages
1,904
Location
Guildford, Surrey, Yoo Kay
Car(s)
Mercedes-Benz C240 W203, British Rail Class 450
Whew! Just got off of a 2.5 hour phone call providing tech support for someone. Microsoft Hotmail ditching HTTP/DAV support for Outlook was the cause of the problem, so I switched them to POP3 (grrrr, I hate POP3!). Of course, I forgot that Outlook deletes emails from the server by default, so when the two computers were both downloading all 99999999 emails, half of them ended up on one comp, and half on the other. D'oh! What a pain to walk people through how to fix that one (considering I don't have Outlook and can't even see what I'm talking about). At least it pays.
 
Last edited:

thevictor390

Teen Wankeler
Joined
Mar 9, 2007
Messages
11,894
Location
Massachusetts
Car(s)
'17 Mazda MX-5 RF, '89 Toyota Blizzard SX5
Ouch! I have yet to have a call last more than an hour. Then again the product I support is not nearly as complex, and I'm only Tier 2 so eventually I can just give up and throw it at Tier 3.
 

darkshark0159

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2007
Messages
1,904
Location
Guildford, Surrey, Yoo Kay
Car(s)
Mercedes-Benz C240 W203, British Rail Class 450
^I'm a one man show. I am Tier 3. :p
 

ChelsDS

xD
Joined
Dec 21, 2008
Messages
2,746
Location
Wyoming
Car(s)
Jeep Wrangler
I haven't been an Apple person in a while.. so.. kinda sucks that I just got an iTouch (hate saying iPod Touch) 32GB and now I want to get apps!

If I get an app off my computer and put it on my phone (is that possible?), is the app stuck on my computer the way songs were/are? :think:
 

darkshark0159

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2007
Messages
1,904
Location
Guildford, Surrey, Yoo Kay
Car(s)
Mercedes-Benz C240 W203, British Rail Class 450
Put it this way: even if you buy the app on the iPod, it will still transfer it to your computer. I think you may be able to then delete it manually from the computer in Explorer though.
 
Last edited:

darkshark0159

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2007
Messages
1,904
Location
Guildford, Surrey, Yoo Kay
Car(s)
Mercedes-Benz C240 W203, British Rail Class 450
Yeah, but as stated in previous post, it just transfers it to your PC on next sync.
 

ChelsDS

xD
Joined
Dec 21, 2008
Messages
2,746
Location
Wyoming
Car(s)
Jeep Wrangler
Yea I just started poking around the newest iTunes and saw that it will transfer over to the other computer. There's also this Home Share thingy which... I dunno what's about. @_@;

I'll figure it out, don't worry! :lol:
 

Polly

wants a cracker
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
4,110
I love how the guys on this board buy their toys whereas the girls seem to "get" them. :D
 

Polly

wants a cracker
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
4,110
Oh, then I'm sorry.. my "profession" is making me a bit squeamish sometimes when it comes to locution. No offense.
 

nsx_23

Forum Addict
Joined
May 9, 2009
Messages
7,709
So it seems my Asus laptop has to have its motherboard reaplced. Again. In less than 5 days.

FUCK YOU ASUS!
 
Top