Rant against the "You dont pay the fee..."

That American Girl

Car(s)
None, right now. Bye Bye Mustang. :-(
Sort of Epic Rant against ?I pay for it and you don?t? posts

This is for the almost daily response to a post about not being able to view videos from BBC from outside the UK. Someone will always pipe up with the typical:

?Well I have to pay a license fee, and you don?t. So you don?t deserve to be able to watch them like I do?

This is utter rubbish.

You?re right; I don?t pay a license fee to the BBC. Sort of. I do pay extra on my cable bill for the ?Premium Package? to see BBC America. This costs me about $25 extra a month, or roughly $300 a year. This gives me two extra channels that I really watch, BBC America, and the Discovery Channel. Just so I can get old re-runs that have been hacked to bits. So, I don?t pay the ?fee? because I can?t.

Also, I have been a die hard Doctor Who fan for over 30 years. And here in the States, try to get that on DVD or any other collectible item. Don?t even get me started on finding Torchwood or Top Gear stuff.

As far as the amount of money I put into the BBC?s pocket versus a ?license payer?, I can pretty sure guarantee that I?ve spent more in the last 5 years alone, than any 10 random people in the UK.

As I said, I?ve been a Who fan for years, and over these years through yard sales, E-Bay, the bits that dribble onto Amazon.com, friends who live in the UK and my trips over there..I?ve amassed a huge collection of memorabilia. As a matter of fact, when I bought this house, I got one with an extra bedroom to store/showcase all of my collectibles. Including Doctor Who, Star Wars, Transformers, and now Torchwood and Top Gear.