Routers for the year 2020

93Flareside

Döner Kebab enthusiast
DONOR
Car(s)
‘18 VW Golf GTI, '87 Mercury Colony Park
The future is now and isn't it glorious? No? Shit....

I've been running a Netgear N600 type router since around 2013-2014ish. I'm pretty sure it's out of support since the news with recent security warnings have not warranted any updates from netgear for my model of router. Currently I have this wireless router hooked up to my IP's modem and just have my N600 router be the DHCP server as well. I am not a guru when it comes to home networking at all. I've tried to change the admin ID and password from default but can't find that on this router. I'm not a complete dunce but also not someone who knows the ins and outs. My home devices are my work iPhone 8, an HP Envy laptop from 2016 connected via wireless, an older AMD A10 build which is wired Ethernet to the router, a recently built Gigabyte X570 Ryzen that is wireless build and an Insignia smart TV connected via wireless that does Youtube and Netflix. TV is only on when I use it as in, it's on a powerstrip I am turning on an off between uses.

What's good theses days for my use case? Only 1 or 2 devices are used at a time, my home is around 1240 sq ft/115 cu. meters. While it would be cool, it's not required to get wireless out to the deck or my garage. House is from 1922 while it has been remodeled, it still can kill 2.4GHz as soon as you step outside. Router is currently in the basement because thats there the line comes in and I can't be bothered to move it. It reaches all corners inside the house so I'm not concerned.

argatoga

Can't Start His Wank
Car(s)
'13 Moto Guzzi V7, '08 Pontiac Solstice GXP
I repurposed an old Core2 duo as a pfsense box. It is a bit more on the technical side and has a British car interior as an interface, but it's secure by default.