Talk to me about C(programming language)

L2D

Car(s)
1999 Toyota Camry V6
Hey FG, I'm taking a computing course this semester, and my brother tells me I have to learn C. Also I should do some pre-reading, so I won't be lost in my classes.
So I just want to learn some basics, like what is it? Is it complex? Does it get easier over time? Will I hate myself for picking this course? Can you give me an example(as a complete noob) about some code?
I have read wiki, but I'm pretty lost as to what's happening.

Thanks

Does it say in the course description that you'll be using C? Because if it doesn't, I wouldn't bet on it. Based on virtually no information on the course, we won't be able to suggest any pre-reading material. Yes C is complex, but that applies to any programming language. Naturally, it gets easier over time, just try not to get hung up on language details, rather try to get the concepts involved. Learn to program, what language you implement in is secondary. If you have the course description or anything, that would be helpful.

Hi Psirus, the info is as quoted

The objective of this course is for students to develop proficiency in programming using a high level language. Topics covered include: fundamental programming concepts, program testing and debugging, the underlying memory representation of data, programming style. Practical experience of these topics is supplied by laboratory programming exercises and assignments.

And the overview is
Introduction to programming for non-computing majors. Introduction to C, problem solving, debugging, programming style, teamwork. Content is roughly the first half of COMP1917, ie up to but not including pointers and dynamic data structures.

Fucking pointers, how do they work? Don't bother reading up before hand, it's an introductory course designed for people never having coded in their life. Is this at UNSW?