The "New Toys" Thread

eizbaer

Forum Addict
DONOR
Joined
Nov 24, 2008
Messages
7,210
Location
Frechen, Germany
Car(s)
Model 3, Cargobike
Oh well, I got myself a new MX Master 3S to replace my old and aging MX Master (1) - which I'll move to the office then, because I can't actually stand working with a tiny MX anywhere all day long anymore. mhm yes. the silent buttons and scrollwheel still feel fairly weird to me. also the thumb buttons feel weird because they're placed ever so slightly differently.

... i should add, what got the stone rolling: weird "lags" from the old logitech unifying cordless crap. i do hope the new bolt stuff is better.
 
Last edited:

thomas

Grouchy Beemer Owner
STAFF MEMBER
Joined
Feb 17, 2007
Messages
6,191
Location
Freiburg - DE, or Texas when possible
Car(s)
E39 M5, '94 Cadillac Fleetwood, '21 Focus Wagon
Finally gave in and bought some (hopefully) decent tools to no longer have to manually turn so many screws and bolts. One impact (the kinda best budget option that can st least undo lug nuts, DTW285) in a box with 2 5Ah batteries and charger, and a 90° ratcheting wrench (DWR180) extra, which unfortunately only comes in 3/8th but I'll for now use a 1/2 adapter, or if need be, get a 3/8th bit selection.

20230403_124704.jpg
 

93Flareside

Sosig
DONOR
Joined
Jul 20, 2009
Messages
22,270
Location
Car(s)
...
Finally gave in and bought some (hopefully) decent tools to no longer have to manually turn so many screws and bolts. One impact (the kinda best budget option that can st least undo lug nuts, DTW285) in a box with 2 5Ah batteries and charger, and a 90° ratcheting wrench (DWR180) extra, which unfortunately only comes in 3/8th but I'll for now use a 1/2 adapter, or if need be, get a 3/8th bit selection.

View attachment 3568785

I would say that is a very nett decision. :)
 

Matt2000

An Unfortunate Discovery
DONOR
Joined
Feb 17, 2006
Messages
17,626
Location
Four from the top and two from the third row, UK.
Car(s)
'12 MX-5 PRHT, '02 Freelander, '90 Disco 1 Bobtail
(DWR180) extra, which unfortunately only comes in 3/8th but I'll for now use a 1/2 adapter, or if need be, get a 3/8th bit selection.
Did it just come with a 3/8" square drive? I have the DWR180 too and it came with 3/8" and 1/4" drive adapters. I've been looking for external drive sockets that I can use with it (it'll do 13mm hex raw), so far the only close ones I've found are the Gedore 1/2" external drive and I'm too much of a chicken to just get one and try it.
 

thomas

Grouchy Beemer Owner
STAFF MEMBER
Joined
Feb 17, 2007
Messages
6,191
Location
Freiburg - DE, or Texas when possible
Car(s)
E39 M5, '94 Cadillac Fleetwood, '21 Focus Wagon
Did it just come with a 3/8" square drive? I have the DWR180 too and it came with 3/8" and 1/4" drive adapters. I've been looking for external drive sockets that I can use with it (it'll do 13mm hex raw), so far the only close ones I've found are the Gedore 1/2" external drive and I'm too much of a chicken to just get one and try it.
Yes it came with 3/8 and 1/4, and I bought an additional 3/8th to 1/2 adapter to use my 1/2 sockets. Although I just remembered that I got an old 1/4 set with a shitty/near broken small ratchet, might just use that maybe.
 

Adunaphel

Angrily shouting at Klauwds
STAFF MEMBER
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
11,590
Location
Fermany
Car(s)
Cube²
The Parts Fairy decided to stop by my office this week:
camphoto_1903590565.jpeg

AMD Ryzen 7 7700X
MSI B650 Tomahawk WIFI
ASUS ROG Strix RX6750XT
XPG Lancer RGB 2x32GB DDR5 5600
WD SN770 2TB
Corsair RM750
Deepcool LT520
Fractal Meshify 2

Some process pics:
IMG_0181.jpegcamphoto_351212254.jpegIMG_0184.jpegcamphoto_1297389768.jpeg

End result:
camphoto_641078858.jpeg
 

Matt2000

An Unfortunate Discovery
DONOR
Joined
Feb 17, 2006
Messages
17,626
Location
Four from the top and two from the third row, UK.
Car(s)
'12 MX-5 PRHT, '02 Freelander, '90 Disco 1 Bobtail
Great looking build. The outer case of the ROG 6750 XT appears to be identical to that on my ROG RTX 3080, the part with the RGB LEDs at least.
 

kalf

Active Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2022
Messages
131
Location
Belgium, north of Antwerp
Car(s)
Escort MK3 project car + VW Caddy 1.4 (family car)
Got a little frustrated with having hardly any wifi in my garage (or even mobile reception) or on the first floor since we switched to a another provider with another router, so I bought a mesh router kit to hopefully fix that problem. Ordered the X20 and received the X50 :unsure:. Sent them an e-mail about the mistake in case I should ever need the warranty. Because of the rather small difference in price and my honesty (and probably because returning it etc in the end would cost them more than the price difference) they offered me to keep this kit.

When we redid all the electrical in our house I installed UTP cables and wall outlets in pretty much every room in the house except for the garage, 'cause why would I want a network port there? Luckily there's a crawlspace under the house so it shouldn't be that hard to run a cable. I'll probably go ahead and run a second (longer) cable while I'm down there just in case the router in the room behind the garage doesn't cover enough of the garden and I need to add an outdoor unit to suit my wife's wishes.
 

NecroJoe

Stool Chef
Joined
Apr 12, 2005
Messages
23,155
Location
San Francisco area, CA, USA
Car(s)
2015 Mazda 3 S GT, 2015 VW e-Golf
Got a little frustrated with having hardly any wifi in my garage (or even mobile reception) or on the first floor since we switched to a another provider with another router, so I bought a mesh router kit to hopefully fix that problem. Ordered the X20 and received the X50 :unsure:. Sent them an e-mail about the mistake in case I should ever need the warranty. Because of the rather small difference in price and my honesty (and probably because returning it etc in the end would cost them more than the price difference) they offered me to keep this kit.

When we redid all the electrical in our house I installed UTP cables and wall outlets in pretty much every room in the house except for the garage, 'cause why would I want a network port there? Luckily there's a crawlspace under the house so it shouldn't be that hard to run a cable. I'll probably go ahead and run a second (longer) cable while I'm down there just in case the router in the room behind the garage doesn't cover enough of the garden and I need to add an outdoor unit to suit my wife's wishes.
We went from an expensive single router, to a lower-mid-tier (from what I understand) mesh system (TP Link Deco), and it's been so so much more reliable. We're not stressing any bandwidth limits with our usage, so it's been really great for us. Our lot is long and skinny, 25' x 100'. We have full-strength signal all the way from our driveway, to the back of our back yard, and yet the network disappears as an available network on my phone when I'm not even to the far side of my neighbor's lot. I like that we're not "broadcasting" out network to 40 neighbors.
 

NecroJoe

Stool Chef
Joined
Apr 12, 2005
Messages
23,155
Location
San Francisco area, CA, USA
Car(s)
2015 Mazda 3 S GT, 2015 VW e-Golf
Just ordered 32GB (two 16GB sticks, CL40) of GDDR5-4800 SODIMM for our laptop. $79.09 including shipping. Not bad, not bad...

It's these, in case anyone's curious. Make sure to use the promo code "10CRUCIAL" for 10% off.

Amusingly the photo they use on their own website is for desktop memory, but all of the specs and listing title both match SODIMM, and the "available at select retailers" links all pull up SODIMM product pages. So...crossing my fingers, but feeling pretty confident.
 
Last edited:
Top