The "New Toys" Thread

Shawn

Lexus? Oh shi-
Joined
May 26, 2005
Messages
13,988
Car(s)
MkVI GTI w/DSG
problem with gta 4 is that it is so demanding, the pc version is especially bad

Welcome to 2008!

GTA IV always ran okay on the PC with good hardware, and with the release of the second patch it's pretty much perfect. Yeah, you notice a glitch or two if you play for 8 hours straight, but it's pretty much like any other game now... and it looks fantastic in 1080 at 42 inches.
 

Crazyjeeper

NickGyver
Joined
Nov 29, 2006
Messages
8,000
Location
Dallas, TX
Car(s)
F150, CJ7, Mustang GT, Tenere, Griso
Aiming for 400 x 9, effectively a 3.6 Quad Core : ) That way, I can run my ram at 1:1 @ 800mhz too :lol:

You should be able to hit that. The SLACR processors usually can hit it no problem.

I'm running my 800mhz ram at 10:9 (444 fsb) :lol:
 

Olie

Active Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
490
Location
Adelaide, South Australia
Car(s)
Evo 8MR
Stop! Server Time!

IMG_2063.jpg


specs:
p4 3.0
4gig DDR2 Ram
2x 640gig WD "AV" Drives
Server 2003 R2

purrrrrs away nicely providing:

Firewall
DCHP
DNS
Active Directory (for each computer to access individual "drives" for backing up data)
Media Server for HTPC
 
Last edited:

Nabster

Has Slutty Mustangs
Joined
Oct 15, 2007
Messages
4,576
Location
DFW
Car(s)
1969 Mustang Coupe, 2019 Mustang GT, 2011 F150
I hope you're not leaving that on a carpeted floor.
 

CyberMonkey

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2005
Messages
2,068
Location
Belgium
damn what kind of a network are your running that a server needs four gig of ram and more fans than Madonna?
 

CyberMonkey

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2005
Messages
2,068
Location
Belgium
Off course, but his server doesn't really look like an industrial one in a rack... :)
But I guess for streaming multiple HD streams, for example, that amount of ram comes in handy.
 

Topgearfanatic

is a Queen
Joined
Jul 3, 2008
Messages
6,353
Location
MA
Car(s)
2002 Audi A4 1.8t
Well, I've got my 1TB hard drive held aside at Best Buy and my sister is going to pick it up tomorrow and use her employee discount, I love having a sister who works at Best Buy!!!
 

MadCow809

Forum Addict
Joined
Feb 23, 2006
Messages
6,375
Stop! Server Time!


specs:
p4 3.0
4gig DDR2 Ram
2x 640gig WD "AV" Drives
Server 2003 R2

pc spec sounds more like a regular 2 year old desktop machine to me. :rolleyes:

anyway, you shouldn't leave your pc lying around on carpets.
 
Last edited:

Shawn

Lexus? Oh shi-
Joined
May 26, 2005
Messages
13,988
Car(s)
MkVI GTI w/DSG
anyway, you shouldn't leave your pc lying around on carpets.

Why? Is it bad for the PC or does it just create too much dust in the room?

I wanna move mine up off the ground, but I have nothing to put it on. :(
 

fbc

Retired Moderator
Joined
Jan 8, 2005
Messages
11,803
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Car(s)
2006 MY07 Astra SRi Turbo
^ Dust etc collects in carpets, putting the pc there means it will suck in more dust than if it was positioned higher.
 

Crazyjeeper

NickGyver
Joined
Nov 29, 2006
Messages
8,000
Location
Dallas, TX
Car(s)
F150, CJ7, Mustang GT, Tenere, Griso
Why? Is it bad for the PC or does it just create too much dust in the room?

I wanna move mine up off the ground, but I have nothing to put it on. :(

Are there places that sell wood in Vancouver? If so (and I suspect there are) go buy some wood a make a little case stand. Heck, give me the dimensions of your case and I'll sketch one up.
 

Shawn

Lexus? Oh shi-
Joined
May 26, 2005
Messages
13,988
Car(s)
MkVI GTI w/DSG
Are there places that sell wood in Vancouver? If so (and I suspect there are) go buy some wood a make a little case stand. Heck, give me the dimensions of your case and I'll sketch one up.

Yeah, we've got wood places here - forestry is our number one industry, afterall. :p

Would a mere few inches off the ground be helpful at all? I'd still like to find a table of some sort... it's a home theatre case so I'd like to be able to store some DVDs and stuff under it.
 

Crazyjeeper

NickGyver
Joined
Nov 29, 2006
Messages
8,000
Location
Dallas, TX
Car(s)
F150, CJ7, Mustang GT, Tenere, Griso
Yeah, we've got wood places here - forestry is our number one industry, afterall. :p

Would a mere few inches off the ground be helpful at all? I'd still like to find a table of some sort... it's a home theatre case so I'd like to be able to store some DVDs and stuff under it.

Any distance you can get between the carpet and the case intakes will help. Which case do you have?
 

Shawn

Lexus? Oh shi-
Joined
May 26, 2005
Messages
13,988
Car(s)
MkVI GTI w/DSG
^ I have the Silverstone LC17.

I have been so annoyed by computer dust for ages, and I can't believe I had no clue I was getting so much because my case was on the floor until you mentioned it in the "where the hell is Viper?" thread.
 

MadCow809

Forum Addict
Joined
Feb 23, 2006
Messages
6,375
Why? Is it bad for the PC or does it just create too much dust in the room?

I wanna move mine up off the ground, but I have nothing to put it on. :(

You bought a PC, not a vacuum clearner for your carpets :rolleyes:

What about your table?
 

Shawn

Lexus? Oh shi-
Joined
May 26, 2005
Messages
13,988
Car(s)
MkVI GTI w/DSG
I know it collects a lot more dust, but is it actually bad for the computer?

I cannot put it on a table because I don't have one. I have a big LCD TV sitting on top of my fireplace, keyboard sits on the TV's base and the case is beside it on the ground.
 

MadCow809

Forum Addict
Joined
Feb 23, 2006
Messages
6,375
it's not bad for the computer, as long as you have good airflow for the motherboard and cpu to breathe.
 
Top