The "New Toys" Thread

prizrak

Forum Addict
Joined
Apr 2, 2007
Messages
21,601
Location
No, sleep, till, BROOKLYN
Car(s)
11 Xterra Pro-4x, 12 'stang GT
I'd go (and have gone) the netgear/cisco route. IMO having the ability to have custom FW is a BIG bonus, especially since I can run some more exotic services on these routers
When I was looking at 11n routers the ONLY Cisco's that didn't have shit reviews cost $500+. If you are looking for customized firmware and ability to run a lot of different services on your routers Netgear/Cisco is not the best way to go. The absolute best (assuming you want low power consumption otherwise just use a PC) hardware for that is embedded style systems, such as Alix.2d2 system (500mhz Geode + 256MB RAM takes CF card for the OS and has 2 miniPCI and 2 USB ports) there are limitations such as only two Ethernet ports (WAN and LAN) that are 10/100 but it will be a complete business grade solution that will take just about anything you throw at it.
 

smib

is a big honkin' homo
Joined
Aug 31, 2007
Messages
6,465
Location
Connecticut, USA
Car(s)
2010 Mazda3
Yeah, I just wanted a cheap wireless router, this had decent reviews. Luckily, everything is getting a day ahead of schedule, so I'll be able to set it all up and let it run for w few days to make sure it all works properly.
 

prizrak

Forum Addict
Joined
Apr 2, 2007
Messages
21,601
Location
No, sleep, till, BROOKLYN
Car(s)
11 Xterra Pro-4x, 12 'stang GT
Yeah, I just wanted a cheap wireless router, this had decent reviews. Luckily, everything is getting a day ahead of schedule, so I'll be able to set it all up and let it run for w few days to make sure it all works properly.
BURN IN!!! Start some torrents :)
 

Viper007Bond

Chicken Nugget Connoisseur
STAFF MEMBER
Joined
Sep 21, 2003
Messages
31,046
Location
Portland, Oregon
Car(s)
2008 Dodge Viper, 2006 MB CLS55 AMG
Spiffy new UPS. Much better than my ancient one as I can see current load, battery life remaining, etc. all from either it's screen or my desktop.

 

Der Stig

is Der Slut
DONOR
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
7,547
Location
Misery Knob
Car(s)
Divorcée Mobiles
WHERE???? (PM if you don't want to share links)
Professional is only $65 if your a student in the US

http://www.microsoft.com/student/en/us/office/default.aspx
WUT!?

I want it for $15 too!
My guess is he's got a family member in Microsoft. That's the going rate in the company store. Just about any Microsoft made software goes for about $15 new there, from games, to OSes. Just have to have a family member who works for microsoft.

Only annoyance is you get these ugly buggers slapped on your product you buy:


Microsoft has a special deal with my school- I picked up Microsoft Office '08 for OSX a few years ago for $20 :D
 

prizrak

Forum Addict
Joined
Apr 2, 2007
Messages
21,601
Location
No, sleep, till, BROOKLYN
Car(s)
11 Xterra Pro-4x, 12 'stang GT
Spiffy new UPS. Much better than my ancient one as I can see current load, battery life remaining, etc. all from either it's screen or my desktop.

Oh nice I need one like that. For some reason in my building we get random power blips from time to time. Like we will lose power for something like 5 seconds and it comes back so I been thinking of getting one to run my router/NAS/WAP/HTPC for that few seconds while the power blips.
 

Viper007Bond

Chicken Nugget Connoisseur
STAFF MEMBER
Joined
Sep 21, 2003
Messages
31,046
Location
Portland, Oregon
Car(s)
2008 Dodge Viper, 2006 MB CLS55 AMG
Oh nice I need one like that. For some reason in my building we get random power blips from time to time. Like we will lose power for something like 5 seconds and it comes back so I been thinking of getting one to run my router/NAS/WAP/HTPC for that few seconds while the power blips.
Yeah, sounds like your certainly need a UPS. :)
 

ZeDestructor

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2008
Messages
2,322
Location
#gear, irc.finalgear.com, .mu, .earth, .???
Car(s)
1994 Toyota Tercel
Spec'ed out it waas $2800 or so and it only weighs 1.38 kg. :) It's my work laptop for when I travel and whatnot. Going to SXSW for example in March and my old laptop was a big, heavy POS.
When I was looking at 11n routers the ONLY Cisco's that didn't have shit reviews cost $500+. If you are looking for customized firmware and ability to run a lot of different services on your routers Netgear/Cisco is not the best way to go. The absolute best (assuming you want low power consumption otherwise just use a PC) hardware for that is embedded style systems, such as Alix.2d2 system (500mhz Geode + 256MB RAM takes CF card for the OS and has 2 miniPCI and 2 USB ports) there are limitations such as only two Ethernet ports (WAN and LAN) that are 10/100 but it will be a complete business grade solution that will take just about anything you throw at it.
Cisco E4200 (very new) looks very nice according to smallnetbuilder.com, and my older Netgear WNDR3700 is scary good for 150usd: 624MHz chip, 64MB ram (upgradeable to 128MB), 5GbE ports (1WAN, 4LAN) 1 USB port. Its good for low-power apps like an IRC bouncer/cheap NAS/Printserver/FTP server and its pretty popular, so lots of support with the different firmwares (official, DD-WRT, OpenWRT)
 

prizrak

Forum Addict
Joined
Apr 2, 2007
Messages
21,601
Location
No, sleep, till, BROOKLYN
Car(s)
11 Xterra Pro-4x, 12 'stang GT
Cisco E4200 (very new) looks very nice according to smallnetbuilder.com, and my older Netgear WNDR3700 is scary good for 150usd: 624MHz chip, 64MB ram (upgradeable to 128MB), 5GbE ports (1WAN, 4LAN) 1 USB port. Its good for low-power apps like an IRC bouncer/cheap NAS/Printserver/FTP server and its pretty popular, so lots of support with the different firmwares (official, DD-WRT, OpenWRT)
E4200 wasn't around when I was looking at them. The Netgear sounds pretty damn good, can it run something like pfSense or is it all Tomato/DD-WRT stuff?
 

ZeDestructor

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2008
Messages
2,322
Location
#gear, irc.finalgear.com, .mu, .earth, .???
Car(s)
1994 Toyota Tercel
E4200 wasn't around when I was looking at them. The Netgear sounds pretty damn good, can it run something like pfSense or is it all Tomato/DD-WRT stuff?
Well, no Tomato since they don't support it (they didn't a month ago). pfSense looks to be x86-only, so I don't think it can run on either. OpenWRT looks similar though, especially when you start adding packages to it. The main advantage OpenWRT has over others imo its the sheer level of control you have on it as opposed to stock FW. I haven't tried DD-WRT (yet, probably won't) so I can't comment on it.

EDIT: list of packages for OpenWRT (my WNDR3700 to be specific) here: Link.
 
Last edited:

smib

is a big honkin' homo
Joined
Aug 31, 2007
Messages
6,465
Location
Connecticut, USA
Car(s)
2010 Mazda3
I should probably Tomato my WRT, but are there any real advantages for someone who just torrents and has a few ports forwarded?
 

prizrak

Forum Addict
Joined
Apr 2, 2007
Messages
21,601
Location
No, sleep, till, BROOKLYN
Car(s)
11 Xterra Pro-4x, 12 'stang GT
Well, no Tomato since they don't support it (they didn't a month ago). pfSense looks to be x86-only, so I don't think it can run on either. OpenWRT looks similar though, especially when you start adding packages to it. The main advantage OpenWRT has over others imo its the sheer level of control you have on it as opposed to stock FW. I haven't tried DD-WRT (yet, probably won't) so I can't comment on it.

EDIT: list of packages for OpenWRT (my WNDR3700 to be specific) here: Link.
I used DD-WRT and from what you say of Open there is no reason at all to go to DD. pfSense is in a somewhat different league from those firmware as it's basically customized BSD with a nice interface :)
 

Viper007Bond

Chicken Nugget Connoisseur
STAFF MEMBER
Joined
Sep 21, 2003
Messages
31,046
Location
Portland, Oregon
Car(s)
2008 Dodge Viper, 2006 MB CLS55 AMG
I should probably Tomato my WRT, but are there any real advantages for someone who just torrents and has a few ports forwarded?
The fact it won't take a shit when you heavily torrent is reason enough. The stock firmware sucks.
 

thomas

Grouchy Beemer Owner
STAFF MEMBER
DONOR
Joined
Feb 17, 2007
Messages
5,987
Location
Freiburg - De, or Texas when possible
Car(s)
'00 M539, '94 Cadillac Fleetwood, '19 Focus Wagon
DHL just delivered that:



Freecom Mobile Drive XXS Intel Edition 640GB
After i ordered a 1TB-2,5" external drive at a shop for really cheap, they noticed it was a pricing-error and delivered the 3,5"-version, which i didnt want. so I sent the 3,5" back, got my money back, and that Freecom (Intel sponsored gift probably) for free as a little "sorry" :).

Other recent things:
- Just some DDR2-Memory to keep the system running for a few more years. Now on 4x2GB 800 5-5-5-15 (2 Dual-Channel-Kits).
 

prizrak

Forum Addict
Joined
Apr 2, 2007
Messages
21,601
Location
No, sleep, till, BROOKLYN
Car(s)
11 Xterra Pro-4x, 12 'stang GT
The fact it won't take a shit when you heavily torrent is reason enough. The stock firmware sucks.
That's more of a hardware issue, no? I had DD-WRT on WRT54G (v5 though so half the RAM) and it would take a shit even on a single torrent with decent speed.
 

thevictor390

Teen Wankeler
Joined
Mar 9, 2007
Messages
11,892
Location
Massachusetts
Car(s)
'17 Mazda MX-5 RF, '89 Toyota Blizzard SX5
My router, some random cheap Belkin, handles torrents just fine, even with lots of other things going on. It takes lots of shits, it's just that it does it randomly, seemingly no correlation with network activity :dunno:
 

Blayde

Forum Addict
Joined
Dec 20, 2004
Messages
8,375
Location
Bahrain
Car(s)
'06 Honda Civic EXi, '11 Kia Sportage EX
One fan for the Shuttle, one for the new NAS, and 1gb ram upgrade as well for the NAS from 256mb

 
Top