The Ultimate OS X Thread

93Flareside

Döner Kebab enthusiast
Joined
Jul 20, 2009
Messages
20,103
Location
Hot Dog with Everything
Car(s)
'12 Fiat 500, '87 Mercury Colony Park
I've just discovered Plex. I have a PowerMac G4 that would work awesome as the server for my videos, music, etc. I know Plex is intel only however I read that Plex is close with XBMC which is PPC supported. Is it possible to mate XBMC and have Plex connect to my server?

If not, I may be getting a full on server(don't know what kind) with quad core Xeon's from my friend who's upgrading his Xserve to 8 core. So I might just use that if it's not going to be feasible with my current setup.
 

freefall

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2008
Messages
892
Car(s)
MX-5 NC
Is there anyone who actually likes all the iOS-ish stuff in Lion?
Even the full screen mode pisses me off, although it's nice that the gestures let you switch back to the regular desktop seamlessly.
 

salguod

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2007
Messages
681
Is there anyone who actually likes all the iOS-ish stuff in Lion?
Even the full screen mode pisses me off, although it's nice that the gestures let you switch back to the regular desktop seamlessly.

The iOS-ish things were one of the reasons I downgraded back to Snow Leopard on my iMac and my MacBook, that and the fact it made them both really slow.

Annoyingly, I have just bought a 15" MBP and I'll be stuck with Lion on it until they hopefully see the error of their ways and make them options...
 

Buktu

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2005
Messages
2,371
Location
Denmark
Car(s)
Suzuki Swift 1.3 2006
What iOS-ish stuff are you thinking about?

I actually really like the full screen mode, I use it all the time in iTunes and Safari.
 

Thomas93

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2008
Messages
1,656
Location
blighty
Car(s)
one day
Is it possible to use our iMacs 10.6 disc or my airs 10.6 USB to install 10.6 onto my blank Macbook?

If not if I ripped them and put them onto my 8gb drive would they work then?

Thanks
 

Buktu

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2005
Messages
2,371
Location
Denmark
Car(s)
Suzuki Swift 1.3 2006
Hm, I believe the install disc's are tied to the specific machine it came with.
 

killpanda

wants to fondle your manboobs
Joined
May 22, 2004
Messages
5,053
Location
Vancouver, BC
If the disc came with a specific machine, it's tied to that specific model of machine.

10.6 should still be fairly easy to buy though, and quite cheap too :)
 

93Flareside

Döner Kebab enthusiast
Joined
Jul 20, 2009
Messages
20,103
Location
Hot Dog with Everything
Car(s)
'12 Fiat 500, '87 Mercury Colony Park
Not always. At least back a few years, if you could use PowerBook and iBook OS X disks between the two no problem. You could if mac's still do, put the machine you want in target disk mode, connect it to the mac with the specific install disk and just choose the mac you have connected. I used to do that when the only 10.4 disk I had was the one for my iMac G5, even with laptops.

On an unrelated note, does anybody know how to disable launchpad? I don't use it and my mac is not an iPhone.
 
Last edited:

prizrak

Forum Addict
Joined
Apr 2, 2007
Messages
21,601
Location
No, sleep, till, BROOKLYN
Car(s)
11 Xterra Pro-4x, 12 'stang GT
Is there anyone who actually likes all the iOS-ish stuff in Lion?
Even the full screen mode pisses me off, although it's nice that the gestures let you switch back to the regular desktop seamlessly.
Not really sure what you mean, you just don't use the iOS features and pretty much don't have to worry about it.
 

Buktu

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2005
Messages
2,371
Location
Denmark
Car(s)
Suzuki Swift 1.3 2006
Disable it? I've just removed it from my Dock and I never see or use it.
 

killpanda

wants to fondle your manboobs
Joined
May 22, 2004
Messages
5,053
Location
Vancouver, BC
I've pretty much stopped using Expos? completely in Lion, it's quite sad since it was one of my favorite feature before, but I haven't really missed it much since.
 

Jens

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2009
Messages
1,867
Location
Belgium
Car(s)
BMW 116d, W124 250D
A month or so ago I received a 2011 15" MacBook Pro (2,2ghz i7, hi-res screen) from work, I must admit that I've always been rather skeptical towards Apple products.
But I am glad to report that Apple has somewhat won me over with their MacBook lineup, I still think they are a bit pricey but at least now I consider them to have competitive hardware and as far as I can tell, very good build quality. You can tell that a lot of thought goes into an Apple product, as all the little, perhaps even trivial features are worked out in a very detailed manner. I believe the marketing department deserves part of the credit for that, as an economist (mainly focusing on marketing) I can't deny the fact that Apple is a great company.

It has been a joy to use the MacBook in the last month, I get up to 7 hours (as advertised) when just browsing and doing word processing and about 3,5 - 4 hours when running CPU intensive programs like Photoshop, Dreamweaver, AutoCAD and Matlab. I like the MAC OS X interface, even the launchpad and especially the trackpad gestures. The keyboard is also surprisingly satisfying to use. The built in VPN support is also pleasant, as I do not need any third party software like Cisco AnyConnect on Windows.

Of course I do have some criticism, I've had trouble with the Wi-Fi connectivity on a handful of occasions and I still need some time adjusting to the finder.

Now that I have declared my love for an Apple product I feel the need to compensate this: I don't think I could ever get used to an iMac. The OS itself does appear to be more suitable for portable devices than for desktops in my mind, overall I feel like I would be more productive on a desktop running Windows. As far as laptops go, it'll be hard to get me back to a Windows based laptop.
 

prizrak

Forum Addict
Joined
Apr 2, 2007
Messages
21,601
Location
No, sleep, till, BROOKLYN
Car(s)
11 Xterra Pro-4x, 12 'stang GT
Cisco AnyConnect on Windows.
You still need it on the Mac, OS X has no bulit in support sadly as otherwise I would have been able to use it for work stuff from home.
 

Jens

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2009
Messages
1,867
Location
Belgium
Car(s)
BMW 116d, W124 250D
Weird, on my Windows laptop I had to use Cisco AnyConnect but on OS X Lion the built in VPN app works fine. I use it every day.
 

prizrak

Forum Addict
Joined
Apr 2, 2007
Messages
21,601
Location
No, sleep, till, BROOKLYN
Car(s)
11 Xterra Pro-4x, 12 'stang GT
OS X supports Cisco VPNs out of the box since Snow Leopard :)
You are talking about Cisco IPSec, that's not the same as the latest AnyConnect which uses SSL. You still need the client for the latter, which is what we use at work.
 
Top