Torrent size problem

darkshark0159

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2007
Messages
1,904
Location
Guildford, Surrey, Yoo Kay
Car(s)
Mercedes-Benz C240 W203, British Rail Class 450
I am trying to download one file from a torrent which contains a huge collection of files (100s of GBs). The problem is that Vuze refuses to download it because it claims that there is not enough space on my drive. I have tried to mark all files except for the one I want as "Do not download" but it does not fix my problem.
 

Top Geek

Forum Addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2006
Messages
10,837
Location
Canadaland :)
Car(s)
1995 Nissan 240SX
Maybe it's just dumb torrent software. I think uTorrent lets you override it ("too big for hard drive, download anyway?").
 

darkshark0159

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2007
Messages
1,904
Location
Guildford, Surrey, Yoo Kay
Car(s)
Mercedes-Benz C240 W203, British Rail Class 450
Does it? Then I'll try that. I ditched uTorrent a while ago because Azeurus/Vuze gives me much better speed, but oh well.

EDIT: Worked. Thank you.
 
Last edited:

Viper007Bond

Chicken Nugget Connoisseur
STAFF MEMBER
Joined
Sep 21, 2003
Messages
31,046
Location
Portland, Oregon
Car(s)
2008 Dodge Viper, 2006 MB CLS55 AMG
Sounds like Vuze is trying to allocate all the files (stupid) or it has a silly built-in check.

uTorrent is a much better client.
 

der_jackal

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2006
Messages
558
Location
Cooler King
Car(s)
'05.5 S4 + '06 Discovery 3
Couple of rather stupid questions;

1. Is your HDD running FAT32?
2. Is any of the files within the torrent > 4GB in size?
 

darkshark0159

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2007
Messages
1,904
Location
Guildford, Surrey, Yoo Kay
Car(s)
Mercedes-Benz C240 W203, British Rail Class 450
No, it's HFS+, so no problem there. I've confirmed it's just Vuze being stupid.
 

low strife

Member
Joined
Mar 10, 2009
Messages
65
Vuze isn't even that great. It uses too much damn memory to be useful, since it is Java... uTorrent is overall better pretty much everywhere.

But a torrent that large will have shady speeds regardless what program you use.
 
Top