What would it take to convert you?

MadCat360

Forum Addict
Car(s)
*Carless* Waaahhh
Simple question. If this is better suited for Political Discussion or not appropriate at all that's fine. Mods just do yer thing.

What would it take for you to convert either from your religion to another, become an agnostic/atheist from your current form of theism, or join a religion from an agnostic/atheist viewpoint?

A few weeks ago, I was a mild Christian. I subscribed to Christianity because that's how I was brought up. I wasn't exactly devout. I studied evolution for a while (as well as other scientific theory pertaining to prehistory), and now that I grasp it I'm firmly agnostic (the stance that the existence of a higher being of some kind is a possibility, though not proven to me). Probably a little bit more towards the atheism side of things - I think it highly unlikely.

I'm pretty thrilled with my new world view. I seem to appreciate the intricacies and complexities of life more, and I find that my moral compass is easier to read.

Anyway, subjective stuff aside, as far as finding religion again, a few things would need to be proven to me about the potential religion (not all, any combination really):

* Legitimate, verifiable miracles. Stuff I can see with my own eyes. Incurable afflictions cured with legitimate, impartial witnesses.

* A peer-reviewed and approved scientific paper disproving the whole or significant sections of evolution and/or proving multiple fundamental, "magical" truths specific to said religion.

* A truly peaceful, unified theology with a minimization of sects, varying interpretations and corruption.

* Theology which indisputably improves my mental well being and a moral compass which matches the clarity (but is not necessarily identical to) the moral compass I have in agnosticism.