Windows 7, so who's tried it?

Phila

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2006
Messages
3,895
Location
Philadelphia
Car(s)
1995 Subaru Legacy, 2008 Subaru Legacy
I think i will wait a bit. Nothing EVER works the first day for me. FF3 took a whole week to even be able to start on my computer wtf.
I believe that means its time to update the ol' computin machine.
 

WirelessMonkey

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2007
Messages
874
Location
Oxfordshire, UK
Car(s)
MK1 Golf Driver
[angry pirate sound] jharr mi buuty[/angry pirate sound]
Thanks for the LOL :)

In my view XP is still the best Microsoft OS, it just seems more stable etc. I have that on my main PC now. But i still maintain that OSX is the way to go now...

Ok so heres some screenshots as per some requests:


 
Last edited:

Luca

is meh.
Joined
Dec 12, 2006
Messages
630
Location
Vienna, ?sterreich
I bet the thing is just Vista repacked and marketed to the paranoid XP users as the fixed vista. And Since vista isn't bad in the first place those XP users who do switch will like Windows 7. Some might even switch just because they would then be 2 Windows versions behind :D

Either that or Windows 7 really proves to be much better than Vista.
 

cvrefugee

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2004
Messages
4,114
Location
Corona, CA
Car(s)
2005 Scion xB
Does anyone know how to switch between Vista and 7? I don't want to destroy my Vista install so I'd like to create a secondary partition for 7 and be able to choose which one when I boot up.
 

MadCow809

Forum Addict
Joined
Feb 23, 2006
Messages
6,375
What did you notice as the main differences?
Startmenu bar was changed completely. Gadgets now float on the desktop, which is miles better than having the sidebar.

And other stuff that I can't remember.
 

klankymen

BLT Master
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,300
Location
M?nchen, K?nigreich Bayern
Car(s)
plastic Japanese iPod dock on wheels
Careful all Windows 7 users with mp3s. I read that it will irreparably damage your mp3s, cutting bits of the ends.

Can't link to the article unfortunately, as it's in German.

EDIT: To clarify, it's only when either WMP changes the metadata, or you use windows explorer to change it. And even then, not always, only when the header is larger than 16KB
 
Last edited:

MadCow809

Forum Addict
Joined
Feb 23, 2006
Messages
6,375
Does anyone know how to switch between Vista and 7? I don't want to destroy my Vista install so I'd like to create a secondary partition for 7 and be able to choose which one when I boot up.
create a secondary partition. install windows 7, when asked for the option of upgrade and clean install, choose clean install. Then just make sure your installation dir is not C:\ and it should automatically create a boot load option.

Careful all Windows 7 users with mp3s. I read that it will irreparably damage your mp3s, cutting bits of the ends.

Can't link to the article unfortunately, as it's in German.
Didn't truncate any of my mp3 collections. And I ran Windows 7 for about 3 days, everything seems to be fine.
 

powah

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2007
Messages
1,285
Location
New Z Land
Didn't truncate any of my mp3 collections. And I ran Windows 7 for about 3 days, everything seems to be fine.
Me too, i've been running it for a few days...

Is anyone here running it with an ATI card? I don't think CCC is installing properly - won't let me get to advanced settings...
 

Shawn

Lexus? Oh shi-
Joined
May 26, 2005
Messages
13,988
Car(s)
MkVI GTI w/DSG
You need a 64bit OS to use more than 3 (or 4...can't remember which). XP64 can do it.
Yeah, but XP x64 is such a horrible OS you are better off using Vista x64 regardless of your aversions to Vista. :)

Edit: It's pretty funny that everyone here is heading to download Windows 7, while most are still reluctant to try Vista.
 

ahpadt

Forum Addict
Joined
May 7, 2006
Messages
9,858
Location
London
Anybody who has been able to install Office 2007 and/or Office Communicator 2007? I'm using the 32bit version btw.
The OS is working nicely but I can't really use it for anything... <_<
 
Last edited:

NooDle

Ik ben niet alleen lekker met kaas!
Joined
Jul 20, 2005
Messages
9,658
Location
Belgium
Car(s)
VW eGolf, Hyundai Kona 1.0
I hate to be one of these guys, but I would much rather stick with XP rather than go for Vista or Windows 7.
I'm this guy aswell... I did hold off on switching from Win98 to XP as long as possible, and I'll do the same. They'll get me on Vista/7/8/whatever eventually
 

Matt2000

An Unfortunate Discovery
DONOR
Joined
Feb 17, 2006
Messages
15,015
Location
Escaped cows, Englandshire
Car(s)
2020 Tesla Model 3, 1990 Discovery 1 Bobtail
So does it support HD wallpapers? The ones in WM's screenshots look like it. Would be great to see it now I have HDCP working. :)

Also, which version is better? 32 or 64 bit?
 

klankymen

BLT Master
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,300
Location
M?nchen, K?nigreich Bayern
Car(s)
plastic Japanese iPod dock on wheels
So does it support HD wallpapers? The ones in WM's screenshots look like it. Would be great to see it now I have HDCP working. :)

Also, which version is better? 32 or 64 bit?
Wait, HD wallpapers? as in moving video for your wallpaper?? wouldn't that be freaking distracting?
 

ahpadt

Forum Addict
Joined
May 7, 2006
Messages
9,858
Location
London
Atleast I can report that Windows 7 runs A LOT better on crap hardware than Vista.
 

Matt2000

An Unfortunate Discovery
DONOR
Joined
Feb 17, 2006
Messages
15,015
Location
Escaped cows, Englandshire
Car(s)
2020 Tesla Model 3, 1990 Discovery 1 Bobtail
Wait, HD wallpapers? as in moving video for your wallpaper?? wouldn't that be freaking distracting?
Nah I just mean HDR style images that would only work on HD displays. The colours on those images make me think you can. :)

Vista can already do animated wallpapers, and I don't think something like a waterfall would be too distracting.
 

klankymen

BLT Master
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,300
Location
M?nchen, K?nigreich Bayern
Car(s)
plastic Japanese iPod dock on wheels
Nah I just mean HDR style images that would only work on HD displays. :)
Why would it not support it? I have a full-hd resolution monitor, and am using 1920 resolution pictures as a background with windows XP, and I don't see any reason why I wouldn't be able to use a 1920 resolution pic that has HDR effects on it.
 

katwalk

Forum Addict
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
10,342
Car(s)
2003 VW Beetle, 2017 Abarth Fiat 500c
I believe that means its time to update the ol' computin machine.
no, it's less than a year old. Firefox had a bug and it worked in a couple of days later I'm using FF3 right now. Any issue I have with new software get's worked out eventually.
 

Breznikov

Active Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2008
Messages
178
Location
The Netherlands
Car(s)
'91 Saab 900 Turbo S
I have the BETA downloaded in 6 minutes. But I can't install it because Microsoft decided they want to wait to give keys. Not that I'm dying to find out what it's like, I might just delete it tomorrow :p
 

Shawn

Lexus? Oh shi-
Joined
May 26, 2005
Messages
13,988
Car(s)
MkVI GTI w/DSG
Nah I just mean HDR style images that would only work on HD displays.
You answered your own question there, didn't you?

Having 'HD' pictures as wallpapers depends only on the resolution of your monitor. Even Windows 98 can do it if your monitor displays over 720 pixels top to bottom.
 

Matt2000

An Unfortunate Discovery
DONOR
Joined
Feb 17, 2006
Messages
15,015
Location
Escaped cows, Englandshire
Car(s)
2020 Tesla Model 3, 1990 Discovery 1 Bobtail
I'm on the Windows 7 site, and there are no download links for it. Where on earth do you get it from, besides torrents?
 
Top