Windows 7, so who's tried it?

leviathan

Snores like a puppy
DONOR
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
2,248
Location
Frankfurt
Car(s)
Tesla Model 3
TeamViewer is another good one, I use that a lot for "support" (telling parents how to do things on their laptop), for its simplicity on both ends. It's free for non-commercial use.
 

brydie76

Viva Las Clarksonistas!
Joined
Oct 28, 2008
Messages
3,052
Location
Australia
Car(s)
2012 Suzuki Swift Sport/Aprilia Sportcity 200
Now you know what it feels like to have English (American) and English (International) come up in the choices. I want English (British) dammit :(.

Certain i got English (Australia) in my language list on install... :blink:
 

Dr_Q

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
1,084
Location
United Kingdom of Englandlandshire
Car(s)
Horse & Cart
Yeah, I actually found out that I just need to tick the checkbox. But after going through all the steps in that guide, I still can't connect to my PC remotely through the web. Maybe it has something to do with my PC being behind a router. But I have to use the router, so oh well.

I find that Remote Desktop is much nicer to use, all the more so since it's a built in feature. I can almost guarantee the problem you have is that you haven't got port 3389 forwarded on your router. You may also need to set up a few rules in your firewall too (if you use one).
 

Adunaphel

Angrily shouting at Klauwds
STAFF MEMBER
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
11,581
Location
Fermany
Car(s)
Two-wheeled nerdpowered lycrawarrior
TeamViewer is another good one, I use that a lot for "support" (telling parents how to do things on their laptop), for its simplicity on both ends. It's free for non-commercial use.

Teamviewer is nice when trying to help someone over the phone and take control over their PC, I prefer logmein for my own PCs though, because it doesn't require me to install software on my end or remember long numbers, just my email address and password, and both are equally free.
 

thevictor390

Teen Wankeler
Joined
Mar 9, 2007
Messages
11,894
Location
Massachusetts
Car(s)
'17 Mazda MX-5 RF, '89 Toyota Blizzard SX5
I agree that Remote Desktop works the best out of all of them. It does the rendering on the client machine (rather than doing on the host machine and streaming the graphics), so it's that much more responsive.
 

awdrifter

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
3,171
I find that Remote Desktop is much nicer to use, all the more so since it's a built in feature. I can almost guarantee the problem you have is that you haven't got port 3389 forwarded on your router. You may also need to set up a few rules in your firewall too (if you use one).

Just tried it today, even with 3389 forwarded I still couldn't connect to my computer remotely. I still think it's a router problem, but I might give LogMeIn a try.
 

camsinny

Active Member
Joined
Aug 10, 2008
Messages
384
Location
Brisbane, Australia
Car(s)
2008 Mazda 2 Maxx
Actually, I preferred Remote Desktop in XP, at least for me at the client end. In Remote desktop disconnects the user currently logged on to the computer when the client tries to log in. In the XP version it didn't ask the serverside user if this was ok to disconnect them, in windows 7 (unsure about vista, can't remember) it asks, and the user can deny you access. Bloody annoying when you quickly need to change folder permissions and CBF physically going to the computer.
 

awdrifter

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
3,171
Yeah, I remember setting up RDWC on XP for a friend, it was much easier. I don't remember whether he's behind a router or not though.
 

Quadrax

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2008
Messages
1,226
Location
Adelaide, Australia
Car(s)
Jap crap
Does anyone know if there was a big update for windows 7 recently?

I just purchased a new laptop on the weekend. It ran fine for the first 2 days now it is trying to do an update and it has been on the screen "Preparing to configure Windows... Do not turn off your computer." It's been like that for nearly 3 hours now. :?

Surely this is not normal?
 

Archie411

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2007
Messages
4,542
Location
Sri Lankan gone down under
Car(s)
Go away....look at something else...
I been using Windows 7 for few weeks now. And im loving every moment with it. I moved straight from XP to 7. Never used Vista and viva la difference! :p

I found some links which I think will help you people. Check them out.
One is 70 Fantastic Windows 7 Tips & Tricks For Better Functionality. Most of them must be pretty obvious but some are not so. Its a interesting read (If you are into that sort of thing :p) and can be helpful in the future!

Other is Windows 7 Codecs. I hated earlier WMPs. Just don't like em. But I really like the WMP 12 in W7! Yes the shortcuts are a PITA wish there were some way to change them but other than that its great. Quite fast and plays avi's !! Woo :p Install that codec and it will play everything else too! From FLVs to adding subtitles! Just download it, install it, run it as administrator and click "Shark007s SUGGESTED settings"

:D
 

thevictor390

Teen Wankeler
Joined
Mar 9, 2007
Messages
11,894
Location
Massachusetts
Car(s)
'17 Mazda MX-5 RF, '89 Toyota Blizzard SX5
Personally I just use CCCP, but yeah, I am impressed at WMP12's efficiency (better performance than anything I can find for the netbook). The keyboard shortcuts are such a huge turn-off though (control-P? Really? And the Spacebar does nothing?), and the fact that the interface overlay pops up when you pause (covering up subtitles.... and the usual reason to pause is to read them).

So, I use it grudgingly on the netbook and stick with VLC on the desktop (or MPC when VLC chokes on h.264, which it does often).
 

XYZviper

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2005
Messages
1,537
Location
Lithuania
Car(s)
TOYOTA Yaris
Is there a "Ctrl Z" thing on Win 7? I try to organize my folders and I expect it to do something, but it does something bizarre, strange and what I'm not familiar with. Now I found a folder that's is like my personal folder. It contains sub folders like My Music, Documents, Contacts everything. I thought to put them all to my disc D:\. On WinXP You go to properties and change the directory and the whole My Documents folder moves to disc D:\. To I did just that and it brought disc D:\ to that folder, or maybe it made the Contacts folder to disc:\. Anyway, lets go back to the first question? How to undo?
 

narf

Sgt. Maj. Buzzkill
Joined
Feb 1, 2008
Messages
18,731
Location
Kiel/Wherever, Germany
Car(s)
'19 BMW M240i
How to undo?

Ctrl+Z.



If you changed the locations the libraries link to then you can just remove the reference to D:. It didn't move D: to that place, it just merges all locations you entered there for joined viewing and has one preferred place to store stuff.
 

Cobol74

Forum Addict
Joined
Mar 21, 2006
Messages
17,507
Location
The banana republic of Ukania
Car(s)
Honda Accord 2.2 i-Dtec Sport Estate.Hyundai Ix20
Got it for the girls PCs - I have been getting router issues - seems fixed now. As for the desk top layout and the systems settings they seem OK, stuff has moved about a bit but I can find everything I need. Vista was crap but Win7 seems much better. Oh I have had loads and loads of downloads too but no issues with them so far.
 
Top