Problem Accessing Site via Verizon?

Leadfoot866

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2007
Messages
1,429
Location
Southwestern PA
Car(s)
'12 Ford Focus hatch, '06 Nissan Sentra sedan
Ok, I have an interesting problem...

This morning I couldn't access the site nor the forums on my computer. At first I thought it was a server error, but after talking to my brother (has Comcast), I started to get suspicious. None of my devices can connect to the site via the network, but when I tried connecting through my phone (AT&T), I got in just fine (yes, I'm writing this through my phone).

I checked the router to see if it had accidentally blocked it, but it was fine. I checked my Verizon account and there was nothing out of the ordinary there either.

I can access every other website I know of on my computer, just not FinalGear. I can't even ping the site! I'm thinking it might be a problem with the Verizon DNS server. Does anyone here have/use Verizon or know someone that has Verizon who is experiencing similar issues?

Thanks!

- Dan
 

thevictor390

Teen Wankeler
Joined
Mar 9, 2007
Messages
11,856
Location
Massachusetts
Car(s)
'17 Mazda MX-5 RF, '89 Toyota Blizzard SX5
Sorry I don't know more, but here at work (Verizon FiOS) I got 404 errors trying to reach this site earlier this morning. It quickly resolved itself.
 

PacketCollision

Server Admin/Crasher
STAFF MEMBER
Joined
Feb 19, 2007
Messages
1,294
Location
San Francisco
Car(s)
generator on wheels
There was a hiccup with DNS this morning, which probably got cached either by your home router or by Verizon. If it still doesn't work, then there might be something else going on though.
 

Leadfoot866

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2007
Messages
1,429
Location
Southwestern PA
Car(s)
'12 Ford Focus hatch, '06 Nissan Sentra sedan
Yeah, it was the DNS.

I played around with the DNS settings on the router. It was set to automatic DNS address retrieval, so I changed it manual and entered the address of another DNS server. Everything is working now, though a few sites are a little sluggish to load.

I'll give it a day or two and then set it back to auto.

Thanks for the help guys! Much appreciated.

- Dan
 
Last edited:

skidd

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2009
Messages
1,356
Location
San Francisco
This morning, everything was fine, but now my Verizon phone can't reach the forums nor irc. *shrug*
 

ashspet

Nothing to see here, move along people!
DONOR
Joined
Nov 1, 2007
Messages
10,496
Location
Oz
Having the same problems with the site and irc (all three addresses). I've disabled prefetch dns and set cache entries and expiration to 0.
 

ashspet

Nothing to see here, move along people!
DONOR
Joined
Nov 1, 2007
Messages
10,496
Location
Oz
PC -

Results:







I'll keep trying connections, but time to leave work. So, I'm not dead, just unconnectable :p
 
Last edited:

ashspet

Nothing to see here, move along people!
DONOR
Joined
Nov 1, 2007
Messages
10,496
Location
Oz


Alternate connection. Looks like the problem in the previous post is due to Vodaphail.
 

Dr_Grip

Made from concentrate
DONOR
Joined
Jul 8, 2008
Messages
13,988
Location
Germany
Car(s)
1979 Opel Kadett | 1972 Ford Country Sedan
FinalGear went dark for me all evening yesterday with a DNS failiure.
 

Dr_Grip

Made from concentrate
DONOR
Joined
Jul 8, 2008
Messages
13,988
Location
Germany
Car(s)
1979 Opel Kadett | 1972 Ford Country Sedan
There was a hiccup with DNS this morning, which probably got cached either by your home router or by Verizon. If it still doesn't work, then there might be something else going on though.
Somehow they did not get propagated for a full day over here ;(
 
Last edited:

PacketCollision

Server Admin/Crasher
STAFF MEMBER
Joined
Feb 19, 2007
Messages
1,294
Location
San Francisco
Car(s)
generator on wheels
Some DNS servers have been very slow in updating. If you (or someone you know) can't connect, change to a DNS provider that knows what it's doing.
 

Mercedes5CLR

Active Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2003
Messages
296
Location
Lewisville, TX
Car(s)
2014 Ford Taurus
I have not been able to reach the site since Thursday, I do have Verizon FIOS. What are the steps to get the site working again. (By the way for the next couple of days i will be at the GF house so i should be able to see responses. Thanks Guys
 

Leadfoot866

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2007
Messages
1,429
Location
Southwestern PA
Car(s)
'12 Ford Focus hatch, '06 Nissan Sentra sedan
I have not been able to reach the site since Thursday, I do have Verizon FIOS. What are the steps to get the site working again. (By the way for the next couple of days i will be at the GF house so i should be able to see responses. Thanks Guys
Well, it depends on what router you have, but I believe the Actiontec MI424WR is one of the most common with FiOS users (this is the one I have).
http://www22.verizon.com/residentialhelp/fiosinternet/troubleshooting/network/questionsone/99144.htm

Login information usually is "admin" as the user name and the router's serial number as the password, though it can also be either "password" or "password1"


There's a whole bunch of DNS servers listed here: http://www.dslreports.com/faq/1591
You can also try the Google Public DNS found here: http://code.google.com/speed/public-dns/
 

Mercedes5CLR

Active Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2003
Messages
296
Location
Lewisville, TX
Car(s)
2014 Ford Taurus
Now will Verizon ever update the DNS Server? Or will i have to change the settings to get back into the site from my home computer. I am just not to comfortable going into the internal set up of the network.
 

Mercedes5CLR

Active Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2003
Messages
296
Location
Lewisville, TX
Car(s)
2014 Ford Taurus
The Site is back up today for Verizon Customers. I just returned home and it works fine. Thanks for everyones help trying to resolve the issue.
 
Top