First time EVER buying car. Need your expertise!

DenOutside

Car(s)
soon, maybe a Civic or Integra
First thanks for all the help in my other thread :D

Ok. So I'll be flying to my first ever full time job (Illinois to Massachusetts) and I would need a car right away. So no test driving!

I'm pretty set on this used 06 Civic LX for $12,000 although if you guys have other advice, I'll look into them

My salary is $41,000 + $3,000 moving bonus but I only have $500 in my bank right now. My job starts Sept 1

• How should I go about paying for this? I'm a complete beginner.
  • How much for the down payment?
  • What's my interest? (my credit is pretty good)
  • Is there anything I should bring to the dealer? (I've done a CARFAX report and the car is clean)

I don't want to be taken advantage of at the dealer (I'm 22 but look like 17. haha) so I want to learn as much here before calling the,

I also just graduated college and don't know whether to put more towards paying that off or the car...

Thanks!

Last edited:
You're in luck. Here we have people who work in dealerships who can tell you all kinds of things... and people who used to work in dealerships who are free to tell you a whole lot more than that.;)

I myself have never purchased an automobile from a dealer lot so I can be of no use to you what so ever.:)

But anyway, welcome to the forums and good luck with your purchase.

First of all, no one needs to know how much you make. Second of all, you should go private party, especially with a civic. Third of all, why an 06? They really aren't that different year-to-year... get a cheaper 02 or something. Lastly, I approve of civics :)

First of all, no one needs to know how much you make.
Well I put that down so you guys will know what my interest and monthly payments should be

Second of all, you should go private party, especially with a civic
Then I won't get a warranty right? I really want one