Computer geek / Software Developer thread

Chade

Especially for idletask, v0od0o, ESPNSTI, me and others like us... :)

On titles:
I'm (almost) a Software Engineer, since I almost have a masters degree in software enineering, but I don't work as a software developer... ;)
I'm currently in a software development project, but I do the requirement collection, doing scenarios, use cases and so on, and later I'll educate the staff that will use the system...
Besides this project I work with the students IT environment here at the university where I work... computer rooms, printing, WLAN, etc... but it's mostly strategic and administrative work - not so much technical. We have PC and network technicians for that... ;)

As you might have guessed from my signature, I'm pretty much into open source software and use Mandrake Linux on my laptop most of the time... :)

cool thread :)
Well I got my BSc in computer science in 2002. I've been working for a bit more than 2 years now and I was recently (last week) promoted to senior software engineer :D
At work I do the actual system's programming, some of the design, code review, design documentation. I've been working on implementing vodafone live service in Egypt for the first year and now I'm working on implementing workflow processes on a custom made workflow engine, and enhancing the engine along way.
My work currently requires me to program in C# and vb.net and it also relies heavily on XML and XSLT, but I've worked for a short while with java and I've worked with Visual C++ and MFC for 4 years in college.
I'm also preparing for my final round of interviews at Microsoft US, they should be next jan, I've already passed a couple of interviews and if I pass the final round I'll relocate to Redmond and work at microsoft (which you chade might hate btw) :wink: