Lens Flair

Shawn, I think it works in terms of focus, but the b&w is not working for me. It looks almost like it does not go with that subject. If it's true b&w (like film) is there anyway you can tone it? Maybe it's just me, and I'm being a bit cliche today, but, I'm sorry, I can't help but look at that and think it would make a nice cyanotype.

No film, I'm just a newbie with a D40.

I'm not sure why I turned that black and white... I think because I wasn't too fond of the colours in the original. Here's the color version if you want to have a look.

Thanks for the C&C, much appreciated.

I initially did one where all four rows of boats was sharp, but since the boats take up most of the picture having them all in focus would mean the tilt-shift would be almost unnoticeable.

Do you guys think it works this way, with only the middle row of boats in focus?

The main issue I see is that you haven't really done a focus gradient - that is, objects further in the background aren't noticeably more blurred than OOF objects just behind the boats.

Anyway, onwards.

15b0f7cc.jpg

I am never, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever doing this again:

nabefaacp.jpg

Thanks 47!

Here's another from the hike. Taken higher up, at about 1000 meters and since this is between two glaciers there's still alot of snow on late June. Kinda strange walking in snow in 20?c.:rolleyes:

DSC_6711.jpg

The main issue I see is that you haven't really done a focus gradient - that is, objects further in the background aren't noticeably more blurred than OOF objects just behind the boats.

I know what you mean, point taken.

I only put a gradient over the middle row so there's no gradual effect... I couldn't get it to work otherwise, either part of the middle row would be blurred or part of the neighbouring rows would be in focus. So I just gave up and took the easy way out, heh.

DSC_1874.jpg