Looks like the GT-R isn't so great after all...

As an Mechanical Engineer, I know I wouldn't ever design any transmission component for a life of 20 cicles. My take is soddy thinking between the LC engineers and the drivetrain engineers.

And of course if I were to buy a 911 T, and launch it like a maniac 20 times in two months, I'd be looking at a clutch replacement, no a whole transmission job FFS!

Last edited:
You really don't know your own car very well! Yeah, the SVO has a wastegate. How do you think the switch on your dash controlled the boost?

Sorry you are right, I was thinking of a boost relief valve for some reason, as the SVOs don't have one of those. I still hadn't had my coffee yet... ;)

Ferrari's "secret" launch control was actually well publicized as well. Do you hold them responsible for people using it and trashing their gearboxes?

The Nissan's LC isn't secret and it states in the manual how to use it. Ferrari's secret LC isn't in the manual, they tell you to use their dedicated LC program. Why would they include such a thing if they never wanted you to use it? I tried digging up some of this info on FerrariChat but I couldn't find anything.

I have yet to see a case of Nissan voiding warranty just because of deactivation of VDC. Abuse, yes, when it causes damage AND the car's VDC's been turned off leads one to believe the car's been abused despite the owner's claims to the contrary.

The thread I initially posted talks about just that. The dealership told the OP that he voided the warranty as soon as the VDC is deactivated. Apparently the dealership tells you that when you buy the car. My point is, why have that?

Last edited:
Sorry, but I seriously doubt that. Once you get into the thinner air of cars beyond 400 hp, I'm sure you'll see a lot of shattered clutches and gearboxes. Also, I am sure that none of the manufacturers would pay any claims in that matter.