Gigabit Switch

Viper007Bond

Chicken Nugget Connoisseur
STAFF MEMBER
Car(s)
2008 Dodge Viper, 2006 MB CLS55 AMG
I download a ton of TV shows (no TiVO and I want HD-ish). I then dump them onto my two sisters' computers via LAN (they have shared, writable folders). However my router is only 100mbit (i.e. slow).

I was thinking about getting a cheap gigabit switch to cut down on those transfer times: DSL Modem -> Router -> Switch -> our PCs

However I have a few questions:

1. Will port forwarding continue to work? I assume it will, but want to make sure. It also means incoming packets heading towards me will also get sent towards everyone else on the switch, right? Is this a security risk? I assume their computers will ignore it as it's being sent to my IP and not theirs, but I'm not that good with networking.

2. Will a dirt cheap ($20) Rosewill switch do the job? I assume it wouldn't be as good (or something) as a $40 Linksys, but I'm not a datacenter or whatever. Most of the time we're under 1 mbit of traffic.

Port forwarding will work just fine. All that stuff is done on the IP layer (switches only prevent lower level protocols from spamming).

I would look into the metal netgear ones. They are just a couple bucks more expensive, but they look much more durable. Below is what I will be picking up when I upgrade my network to a 802.11n / gigabit set-up.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833122005

why not router that does gibit?
Like one of those gaming routers?

less power consumed :D

That's wrong. That's what would happen on a hub.

Yep, only IP broadcasts get sent to everyone, and you won't be getting any of that from the Internet. I might add that you have most likely already been using a switch on your router. The router itself is just attached to the internal switch as a networked device.

Port forwarding will work just fine. All that stuff is done on the IP layer (switches only prevent lower level protocols from spamming).