1997 Renault Megane hatch

villej

Car(s)
'03 and '06 Renault Megane
Yes, it's nothing too fancy or awesome, but I still like it.

I bought it about an year ago for a cheap but comfortable car to drive long distance trips, which are mostly between my home town and the city where I'm studying at university.

As I student I don't have that much extra money laying around, so I was not able to buy anything too new or expensive. This Megane does its job well anyway, it's good to drive and has a good ride quality, which I myself rank as important features for driving long trips. It had done 150000 kilometres before I bought it, but now it has about 20000 more on the clock.

It has one problem though, the speedometer doesn't work at the moment, thus I'm using the GPS navigator to show the speed. It's some sort of electric glitch, probably some wire from the speed sensor on the gearbox has corroded. I haven't yet had proper time to try to find the cause of the problem.

Oh, and it has 1,6 litre 8 valve 4 cylinder engine. It's not too powerful, but at least it gives a good fuel economy with the light car, which a broke studen't like me can appreciate.

Some pics:
IMG_0525.JPG

IMG_0527.JPG

IMG_0531.JPG

IMG_0544.JPG

IMG_0535.JPG

IMG_0538.JPG

The car's on backyard because I have just deployed some stone chip protection to the underbody.

Not too bad. Far from a terrible car. The pattern all over the doors is kind of funny.

That pretty much sums up the '90s in car form. But I liked the '90s, so I like the car.

The good thing about it is, that it's still mechanically in very good condition. The body is also free of rust, because it has had extra rust proofings done by it's previus owner when it was new.

Yeah, and the straingth from the 90's interior is in like new condition. :D The previous owner has taken good care of it.